We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, over priced.”
Review of Alongside

Alongside
Ranked #22 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Alongside is an exciting social space situated over the water in the stunning bay of islands. There is no place quite like it in Northland and we are proud to be different! While there is an overall laid back, casual feel to the huge decked area, its style and touch of class makes it the perfect place to get together with friends and family for a relaxed bite to eat and a drink to cool down in the beautiful winterless North. Take in the breath taking views, relax on some of our comfy loungers and soak in the great community feel that Paihia has on offer. We offer all day casual dining . Our menu is designed for sharing - small plates and boards boasting local seafood and fresh produce. Choose a drink to match from our extensive drinks list boasting a wide range of exciting wines to speciality rums and mouth-watering cocktails.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service, over priced.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Terrible restaurant. Great location, but the food was embarrassing. One example - we ordered a Salt and Chili Squid Salad, priced at $14. We received 3 tiny pieces of battered squid, and a few bits of lettuce. That was it. We politely sent it back, and they came back with a few more bits of squid thrown on top. The waiter had an attitude about it as well. We asked a second waiter, who was much more apologetic and who organized a refund, which was an appropriate response.

In short, the food is poor, and it's over priced. Good place for a drink with a view, but don't go there to eat!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wardmeister78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Wardmeister78. Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience and apologise for that. I have addressed your issue regarding the squid salad with the chef, I am pleased your complaint was dealt with accordingly by a staff member but this should have been done in the first place and I am looking into your issue with attitude from one of the front of house team - this is highly unacceptable and not the type of customer service we would ever deem appropriate. We hope that you had a pleasant trip to New Zealand and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    206
    120
    94
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Underwhelming given such promise”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Firstly the good. Amazing location. Right by water, big open deck, nice comfortable chairs. The menu is contemporary and interesting. Certainly step up on trad. small town cuisine. Oysters are a bargain at 3 bucks a pop.

Now the bad. Service is atrocious. We visited when it was only semi busy but you'd have thought the staff were run off their feet. People near to us never actually got their food and left.

The food was a bit underwhelming. Calamari salad promised much but didn't deliver - just bland. Lamb backstrap salad was overdressed.

Helpful?
Thank new_test_leper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
3,679 reviews
1,000 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 713 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION-AVERAGE FOOD”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Overlooking the Bay of Islands on a new deck is something special. The day was sunny and the ambiance was great. We had heard the service might be 'spotty' but it was good and the staff was attentive. The food range was small but the quality was good. The small fish and cips was as good as it gets.A good place on a sunnt day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Oldjack - Thanks for being the first to review Alongside. It's great that you found our staff to be attentive and you enjoyed the ambiance. We are very excited about the new deck and the hope the weather holds up for a great summer! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Paihia. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New and exciting”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Lovely to see a heart to Paihia... Great location, great bar/ bar food. excited to see it running through it's first summer! Well done

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Erica B, thank you so much for your great comments. We too are very excited about what the deck has in store and hope it will be a real asset to Paihia. See you again soon hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alongside also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Alongside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing