We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the day.”
Review of Alongside

Alongside
Ranked #26 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alongside is an exciting social space situated over the water in the stunning bay of islands. There is no place quite like it in Northland and we are proud to be different! While there is an overall laid back, casual feel to the huge decked area, its style and touch of class makes it the perfect place to get together with friends and family for a relaxed bite to eat and a drink to cool down in the beautiful winterless North. Take in the breath taking views, relax on some of our comfy loungers and soak in the great community feel that Paihia has on offer. We offer all day casual dining . Our menu is designed for sharing - small plates and boards boasting local seafood and fresh produce. Choose a drink to match from our extensive drinks list boasting a wide range of exciting wines to speciality rums and mouth-watering cocktails.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great start to the day.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was sceptical about eating here having read the T.A. reviews on my phone whilst my husband nipped off for a newspaper. Service was a little slow to begin with but they were busy when I order our coffee which arrives after a bit of a wait. Staff are all very pleasant.
We order a couple of bacon butties and the granola. Both arrive in great time the bacon buttie looks great and I take its photo. Thick slices of crunchy grilled bread, generous well cooked bacon with a mild mustard. It's a great start to the day. I'm starting to feel I'm on holiday and order a glass of proscecco. The granola is fantastic, poached plums, creamy greek yoghurt topped with a great seeded granola mix. We order more coffee, read the papers and enjoy the sunshine and the view
We like it so much we enjoy all of it again the next day.
I like this place and would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarebelleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi there - thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It's great to hear that you quickly felt the 'holiday mode' set in on arrival to the deck - it is exactly the feel we want our patrons to have even if they live locally! We are pleased to hear that you returned the following day and hope your trip to Paihia was an enjoyable one. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    200
    119
    92
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast, two days in a row”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Coming from Christchurch, you just have to love coming to Paihia in May, so warm. Alongside has seemingly very poor reviews and somewhat unjustified in our opinion. The place looks a million dollars, wonderful view over the water and we found the service very friendly and professional. We didn't exactly eat up large for breakfast, however, the coffee was good, the granola, to die for, and the bacon butties, just yum. Amazingly cheap for the 5 star location. Our over quibble is for a place with a million dollar fitout, why oh why, do they play a commercial radio station complete with adverts and annoying music, hasn't one of the staff got an iphone they can plug into the music system?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Jeremy. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Alongside. We agree that the climate up here is fab! We are pleased to hear that the food and coffee was to your liking and must apologise for the annoyance of the commercial radio playing - this is not normal practice as we have a music system in place and hope this was a one off due to a technical issue - I will look into the matter with staff. We hope you had a great trip to the Bay. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place for a sundowner”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Best place to ha e a wince and watch the sun go down, the. Cuddle up under a blanket and share a platter.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joludoandlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi - thank you for your review, we are pleased that you had a pleasant experience on the deck and enjoyed the views! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
“great location, TERRIBLE service!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the second time we have dined at Alongside, the first time was AWFUL service! Waited 15mins to be served the food was overpriced for what it was. Finally a waitress came along and told us another waitress would come to take our order she looked around and then groaned and said ughhh it might just have to be me, as there was no one else around. It was not busy and yet tables had not been cleared or wiped down. The couple next to us waited longer to be served, they were trying to get thewaitresses attention but were ignored. I went to go and pay and was asked what did i want? this was coming from the waitress who served us. On Friday we decided to give them another shot, it is beautiful location! Again, rude waitress (same waitress as last time)
I would hate for the tourists who visit this place to think this is what New Zealanders are like.
WILL NOT BE RETURNING HERE!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi there - we thank you for raising these issues with is and we have been in touch to try and pinpoint these problems more. We always aim to address all feedback and are apologetic that you did not experience satisfactory customer service. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great position but terrible food. Service was OK on the day we went. Would not recommend other than to avoid at all costs!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Brent - thank you for taking the time to write your review. As we are trying to address these points, we would appreciate if you could contact us on info@35south.co.nz with information on what the issue was with the food you received. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alongside also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Alongside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing