We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure! wonderful accomodation, well appointed, modest price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“A treasure! wonderful accomodation, well appointed, modest price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We arrived in Paihai late afternoon without a reservation, found this motel one block off the main highway and were delighted! Friendly Innkeeper, great room with well appointed little studio set up CLEAN, QUIET and COMFORTABLE. The price was modest and actually the best price for the room durining our entire 1 month NZ visit!

Bounty Inn is close to the village, bayfront and shops. Handy and charming community!
I would definately choose it again.

Room Tip: Great parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    68
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
86
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Excellent location with views and the best part that we like was the service we got which was fabulous and very friendly.The rooms are very clean and tidy and the lightning inside the rooms make you feel that you are in a luxury hotel.Plenty of parking onsite.Highly recommended to everyone visiting Paihia and NZ.

Room Tip: Very quite location, any of the rooms will be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Scott Moore and his fine son and daughter provide hospitality in a very clean, quit environment. I don't hesitate to give them my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: On the second level with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

10 Grandmothers (8 from the Kapiti Coast and 2 from Tauranaga) ventured to the far north having driven from Auckland Airport to the lovely Bay of Islands.
The Bounty Inn was perfect accommodation for us with each lady having their own sleeping space (no sharing of rooms or beds!!!)
Scott Moore the Motel Manager was more than accommodating, very friendly and helpful.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone wanting to experience the far north.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiddlesWaikanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton n.z
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

My elderly parents and a family friend recently stayed at the Bounty Inn. They were late arriving but Scott had hot dinners waiting for them , Thanks so much for this. This cheered them up after a very long road trip.. They had a downstairs unit easily accessed from the car - great for Mum with a walker - with a lovely balcony, complete with friendly cat ,facing the garden ,AND we were given a great deal. The beds were comfy and everything was clean.It was only 1 block from the beach and a few minutes walk to everything in town so the moble member of the group was happy too. We definately reccommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank driver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Hi Driver01,
I feel sorry for them having to eat my beer can chicken.lol. Even though it has taken so long to post this reply I do remember you all and your parents just looked so tired from their trip we were happy to be able to help get them settled in without the worry dinner.
Thank you for the great review and all the best for you and the family in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed here as part of a short, organised trip to Paihia. When we were told we were staying here I was pleased to see all the good reviews.They did not let me down, the motel is of a high standard. We were given an upgrade and had a huge room, kitchen and shower room. All rooms fitted to a good standard, sheets fresh and spotless,kitchen eqipment plentiful.Wish we had longer!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piggygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Hello Piggygirl60,
It's a shame the excellent service you received is the let down by my taking so long to reply to your exceptional review. I am here today as Marilyn has gone on holiday and let me temporily into her office seat.
Thanks from Scott and the crew.Merry Xmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Great studio apartment with parking along side- comfortable sleep in quiet surroundings- really close to the town- thoughtful & attentive staff- relaxed atmosphere and very competitively priced against similar accommodation in area that we looked at before booking in- would certainly recommend and stay again in the future

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBroadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
Hi,
Thank you for your great review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Bounty Inn so much you came back a few days later and stayed with us again. I have to say the attitude and personality off the guests makes all the difference and you and your partner were as good as they come in that respect and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.6 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Property: Bounty Motel
Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing