We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, Comfortable, Well Equipped”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, Comfortable, Well Equipped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed two nights here, and it was one of the best places we stayed in NZ. Our 1st floor, one bedroom unit had a living room/kitchen, bathroom and small bedroom. While the living room faced the road, it is one street back from the main road (the bay view is over the roof of the motel across the road), but the bedroom at the back got next to no road noise. The kitchen was well equipped with electric stove top, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge etc. We would stay here again. We paid $NZ99 per night - I think it was a special rate for multi-night bookings (1 bedroom @ studio rate), but we paid more elsewhere for worse accommodation.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Thanks Rodney E.
It is great to know you enjoyed your stay at the Bounty Inn and found our unit and pre christmas special such good value. We put on a lot of specials during April thru to Xmas so hopefully we might be able to entice you back one day.
scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    73
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
90
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have just come back from 3 nights at this motel. I booked a studio which was on the ground floor with parking right outside. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well equipped and had a large double bed (which was very comfortable) and a single bed, TV, kitchenette with microwave and en suite shower room all for $99 a night. It was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. In my view very good value. The town was quite quiet as the season hadn't really started, but I think the motel could be quite noisy when the backpackers arrive. Wifi was limited and not always easy to connect. It is close to town - about 5 minutes walk from the ferries and dolphin trips. A 4hr trip on the dolphin boat with explorenz was the highlight of my trip and well worth $95.

Room Tip: The studio apartments are on the ground floor and sleep 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Hi Tillybox,
I really appreciate your taking the time to put in a such a great review and as the owner it makes me proud of my staff who is responsible for keeping them so clean and for servicing them.
I wish you and your family a very Merry Xmas and fantastic 2012.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We arrived on a quiet, rainy Sunday at the beginning of the season. Nearly every hotel, lodge and Motel had vaccancy boards out, so we decided to check a few out. Bounty was easily the best for the money. Spacious room. Modern decor. Friendly, helpful staff. Location was key in the heavy rain - set on the first street that runs paralel to the foreshore, it is a quick 2 mins walk from the shops, and restaurants. Would definitely head here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Hi Paul,
Thanks for reviewing the Bounty Inn and for the great feed back. we print out all the reviews for the staff to read and it really helps them and the management take pride in their work to hear such positive comments.
Merry Xmas.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had a two-bedroom apartment, but one of the bedrooms was in fact the entrance hall. The shower was excellent. The kitchen was fully equipped except for a lack of oven tray/grill pan (soon rectified by a visit to the office). There was quite a lot of noise from neighboroughing units, especially upstairs. The unit was rather expensive considering it was not particularly roomy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Hi Paul,
I am sorry your stay at the Bounty Inn was not all you hoped for but will take the positives of full marks for cleanliness. Without knowing the details it is hard on me to comment on the value you paid but I am surprised as in November as in all our low season months our rooms are discounted as low as we can go and usually are considered good value as you can judge by the majority of reviews. The back door exit is primarily for usage as a fire escape and to enable easy access from the rear carpark with your luggage and is not a entrance hall as the front range slider is the main entry and exit of your unit but will put fire exit signs on the rear doors to prevent confusion in the future
Merry Christmas to you and your family
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Myself and wife stayed in a 2 room Unit for $80 per night. It was renovated with everything and Scott the owner could not have done more. Quiet, 1 St back from the beach-ownSo restful that we slowed our north island trip down. Booked 2 days of excursions and that was great value for 2 of us ($318 NZ)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Hi Twoblue61,
Fantastic review thank you and we are glad you enjoyed our September early bird studio special. It was so successful you even got upgraded to a one bedroom unit which obviously worked to our advantage as you extended your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to NZexplore.
Merry Xmas and have a great 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We found the experience great, all needs were met with a smile. We were in the TV room and I think the work in the other rooms to modernise the units is better than the room done on the TV programme. Lovely place and will be even better when you have finished. Enjoyed Bella, Charlie and Garfield also. Reach for the stars - From John & Wendy

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Hi John and Wendy,
First I must apologise to taking so long to reply as it is one of the things I keep meaning to do but dont do enough. I have given the zoo(Garfield,Charlie and Bella) a pat for you.lol. I wont tell the interior details that did the TV show room that you prefer my taste.:-).
Have a brilliant Xmas and great 2012.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We arrived in Paihai late afternoon without a reservation, found this motel one block off the main highway and were delighted! Friendly Innkeeper, great room with well appointed little studio set up CLEAN, QUIET and COMFORTABLE. The price was modest and actually the best price for the room durining our entire 1 month NZ visit!

Bounty Inn is close to the village, bayfront and shops. Handy and charming community!
I would definately choose it again.

Room Tip: Great parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Property: Bounty Motel
Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing