We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paihia Central Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paihia Central Motel”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

As the name suggested Paihia Central Motel is very central, but then so are a number of other Motels in the area. The wharfe, restaurants, cafes are all in easy walking distance. Our unit was recently renovated, clean and tidy. Wireless internet is available (at a fee). Upon arrival we went to make ourselves a coffee but there was no milk in the fridge and we had to go to reception to request some. The following morning we woken at 9:00 am with the sounds of the cleaning lady knocking on our door calling out room service. Curtains were closed, and as I have not had a sleep in for some months, I was rather annoyed about the intrusion. The following night one of the other units had a very drunk and rude person who kept us awake with his swearing and loud banning on the door, until the security was called in, so another restless sleep. Very small hot water cylindars saw us having a very quick and cold shower. I have rated this motel as average. As an indication we decided to extend our stay in Paihia but changed our motel as we didn't want to stay another night. See my review on the KingsGate motel across the road from Paihia Central Motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RammedEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    73
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
90
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The property is in a good location, walking distance to the shops, restaurants and jetty in Paihia. The 2 bedroom unit was clean but a bit tired and in need of a makeover. In the master bedroom the bed was so big you couldn't open the cupboard door; there wasn't enough furniture in the lounge room for everyone to sit; the bathroom large but no shelving. Any activity in the upstairs unit was quite audible. Given the proximity to main shopping/eating area (and over the Easter Weekend) it was a very quiet location. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and the above did not distract us from enjoying all the sites and activities of the area.

Room Tip: Upstairs probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Paihia Central Motel, as the Bounty Inn is now known, was a very comfortable stay for four days recently. Our spacious timber-lined unit had a separate bedroom at the rear, very quiet, and with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a good shower, the kitchen had a full stove, microwave and all the dishes and utensils we needed, The living room had two couches and a flat screen tv, though we spent quite a lot of time on the balcony outside. Just a block from the beach and the main shops and wharf area, we only used the car to get to the supermarket which is in the next bay north. Rebecca, the temporary manager, was brilliant, very helpful and friendly. Can happily recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We booked for 4 nights here. Friendly welcome on arrival by the manager Rebecca who showed us round. Motel is in an excellent location just one block from the sea front and so easily accessible. Each room had its own car park space which was included in the price. Rooms were very quiet at night. We were also easily able to book excursions from the Motel. We were impressed by the cleanliness, spaciousness of the rooms too. The only downside was that the front doorway was difficult to lock and a towel rail in the bathroom was faulty, however this in no way stopped us from enjoying our stay. We would definitely book this motel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonylast47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Didnt know this review site exisited.My husband and I and our friends stayed in the Bounty in March this year and we had a room each.We were very happy there even though my husband had a door close on his heel ( just one of those things) after a BBQ and needed hospital attention. The attention he received at the motel was the best we could have ever wanted from Scott and his son and the lady in a neighbouring motel who drove us to hospital in Kawakawa at 8pm that night and it was a Sat night..My husband had 8 stitches in his heel and we came back to the motel and again Scott showed concern and offered his help in any way.
We thank him for the concern shown at all times which was out of the bounds of his responsibility but we did appreciate it.
Thanks Again Greg & Carolyn Nicholas from New Plymouth

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed in a room with 3 other girls, 3 single beds and one put up bed. All were comfortable, even with 4 beds - plenty of room. Bathroom was a decent size although shower wasn't great and did leak. Small kitchenette is a good plus - cooker, microwave for those that want to cook their own meals.
Balcony with chairs was also nice!
The motel is a 5 minute walk to the beach and centre of Paihia. The beach was OK and the water was warm, but once in the water the sand was very clay like!
I ate at a couple of restaurants in the centre and both were VERY good!! One thai and one fast food fish shop - both on the front!
Nightlife there are a few bars and these are a 15-20 minute walk from the motel.
Breakfast was included - basic cereal, but was enough.
Wi-Fi was free you just need to ask reception for the password.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here on a contiki your and absolutely loved it, staff were friendly room was clean and spacious and location was perfect. Couldn't ask for anything more from a motel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cs64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Property: Bounty Motel
Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing