We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We found our room to be spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. We had a spa bath that I couldn't get into because of sore back/leg but the owner Greg gave me the keys to another unit for the night so I could shower.Nothing was too much trouble to him. Also let us stay on till 11.30am instead of leaving at the normal time of 10am. Transporting us to and from the buses was no problem.Car parking in courtyard outside motel room. Motel was in the same road as the main shops and easy walk (5 mins) to them and ferries. But far enough away to be quiet at night. Thankyou Greg for a wonderful 3 days at your motel. Will recommend it to anyone we know heading in your direction.

Room Tip: Easy flat walk to all shops,ferries etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastLynne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    131
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
118
125
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This Motel is close enough to the wharf area for trips around the Bay but far enough away from the hub to be peaceful. Owner and staff are very helpful and friendly; arranged our next Motel and our trip to Ninety Mile Beach etc. Well located for a visit to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sula-Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Badly in need of renovations, very dated and in desperate need of some TLC. A bit of a 1970's time warp.
Kitchen and bathroom small and very very basic.
Not sure how they qualify as a 4* would only be a 3* in my opinion
Not good value for money at $220 per night for a 1bedroom unit (3people)
but they did have a very friendly helpful staff member called David.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kororoakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alure, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
We Booked these Guests in over the High Season Rate of $220 for a One Bedroom Fully Self Contained Room in Paihia over the Xmas New Year period this tariff is Mid Range in Paihia for this time of season for a 4 star property. We take pride of our 4 star qualmark rating our Motel was built in the early 80s we have dishwashers in the kitchens, telephones in all rooms with Wi -Fi, also we have 32" LCD TVs with 14 Channels plus SKY TV
Qualmark official Inspector says we keep this Motel in a very High Standard
Great to have a positive review for our Staff Member David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Stayed at Dolphin Motel opposite wharf in centre of town the room we stayed in is called the snapper room nicely furnished. The owner is a Bob Hosking look a like so when you vist say Gidday Bob and his Real name is Greg will give you a few Laughs!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We have to write a review of this wonderful motel after having such a great time at this great motel. We originally planned to stay there 2 nights, but as we had such a great time, we extended our stay to 4 nights. The owner is a great guy who goes out of his way to please customers and we could not fault him, or his hotel, in any way.
Location:- the hotel is located in a quiet street some 100 yards from the sea front, and handy for the 4 Square supermarket and all the shops. You have the handiness of being near to all the amenities without the noise of traffic and pub customers at night. He can book any tours you wish, and is very keen to give you as much information on the area as possible.
Rooms:- The rooms are very good with a small kitchen which is quite adequate for all your needs. Our room was spotless and contained clean towels every morning, and the room was cleaned very well daily.
Value for money:- The New Zealand tourist trade is being hit very hard by the recession and hotel owners are being hit very hard at present and hotel owners are struggling to keep going. We thought this motel was excellent value for money - not the cheapest, as private houses are offering their rooms at reduced prices which is grossly unfair - but the best value we could find and would certainly recommend it to everyone. He increased the size of the room he had of his own free will, but if another paying customer had needed it, we would certainly have moved as after all he has a business to run in these hard times.
As an aside, anyone going to stay in Paihia should try the Fuller Great Sights Overnight Cruises as it is fabulous and wonderful value for money, and you can book it through the motel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandLyndaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We have never received such bad service! When we called to inquire about rates, we explained that we were travelling with two grandma's and two teenagers ages 13 and 15. We explained that we needed beds for four of us and were willing to bring air matresses for the kids. We asked for the best price that they could offer us for a three night stay. The owner quoted us $100 dollars per night and insisted that we take the two bedroom apartment because he would feel bad if we were squashed into a smaller unit - even though we had previously stated that we were fine in a smaller room if it meant a better price. We were thrilled by this great deal!! We called to confirm our reservation in the two bedroom apartment approx. 15 hours before we arrived, and confirmed that we only needed one air mattress.

When we arrived, we were informed that he had given our room to guests who wished to extend their stay and they were willing to pay a higher rate. He then proceeded to chastise us for asking him to lower his rates when we had called...we asked for his best price...he offered us the larger room at the reduced rate by his own free will. He then called into question the size of our children ---they were awfully old children....we told him their age at the time of booking. He said we were welcome to find another hotel if we weren't satisfied with the one bedroom apartment that he downsized us into. At this point we had six tired, hungry passengers who weren't interested in searching out another hotel... so we stayed. We would have been fine with the size of the apartment if we hadn't originally reserved a larger one! The owner didn't even have the decency to offer us two smaller apartments - the grandma's could have shared one.

There were no towels, and when we asked for some, the owner promtly gave us 4. ..no hand towels, no face clothes, no bath mat. Day two, we recieved 6 towels, 3 faceclothes, two hand towels and a bath mat. Day three, we were back to nothing.

The good news ... the location was great, the beds were comfortable, it was relatively clean - the walls needed a good scrubbing, and it was quiet.

We would never book with this hotel again based on the absolutely shocking service that we received!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedandKeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2014
There was a change of management as of April 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We intended on staying in the Yellow Tail room one night, and ended up staying for 5! Great management, clean rooms, and a perfect location to do all the great things bay of islands has to offer. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting this amazing part of New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canders7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing