We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and well positioned”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Spacious and well positioned”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Friendly staff, giving great advice to travellers, rooms are a very good size and very reasonably priced for 4 people, a full kitchen in the room provides for the option to self cater, however given that the motel is positioned close to the centre of Paihia eating or drinking out is a tempting option. A great place to be based for other trips around Northland. Would definitely recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are spacious and have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Kia Ora
Many Thanks John for your review.Hope we see you again in the future.
It was a pleasure to meet you all.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    132
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
119
125
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Shore City, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The facilities are good and clean but the people and service are great. Paul and his staff go out of their way to help you and answer your questions on travel advice within the Bay of Islands.The rooms for 4 people are very competitively priced and are good deals for groups of friends travelling together. It is also in close proximity to the heart of Pahia town and walking distance to the wharf for fishing and sightseeing charters.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jwdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Kia Ora
Many thanks for your great comments and indeed look forward to seeing you in the future for some good Kiwi hospitality.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived after a long drive from Auckland.
We had a very warm welcome by the owner Paul, who immediately offered us a fresh beer or soft drink.
Very helpful in arranging activities in the area, with discounts.
Rooms have all you need for a comfortable stay.
Good location in town.
One of our favorites in New Zealand!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GianniJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Kia Ora
Many thanks Gianni and Caroline it was privilege to have you stay,and being both airline pilots in Europe,you would stay in many types of accommodation.Therefore I am pleased our accommodation met your standard.Hopefully you will return to New Zealand and visit us again in the Bay of Islands.
Kia Waimarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I booked a room for four people. The room was very very well maintained and clean. Really enjoyed my one night stay there. The host introduced us to Paihia and sincerely welcomed us. Very reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind words.It was a pleasure to meet and glad to know you enjoyed your stay.Hopefull you will come back and see us sometime.
Kia Ora Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My children and I recently stayed at the Dolphin Motel. The unit was clean and comfortable, kitchen well appointed. Well located in the town. The people were very friendly particularly Paul, the manager, who went out of his way to help organize us. Would definitely‎ stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.It was a pleasure to have you and your family here.
I am glad I was able to help with arrangements in the Bay of Islands and further into New Zealand.
Kia Ora and hope to see you again one day.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the 'Dolphin Motel' and at an exceptionally reasonable price. The King Studio suite was roomy and comfortable having a good sized bathroom and separate kitchenette. Linen and bedding appeared brand new and décor generally was first rate. The kitchen is well equipped and the TV a large, modern flat screen. The room was quiet and an added benefit was being able to park our car for an extra night while we went on a boat cruise around the Bay of Islands. Its close proximity to town was an added advantage.
Paul provided a friendly welcome and is a very experienced manager which shows in the attention to detail in this motel. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Many thanks for your great comments.It was a pleasure to have you.I try my hardest to give good Kiwi Hospitality and keep the standards in our property with added little extras at no cost.
Look forward to seeing you in Paihia again one day.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

great recent stay up in the bay. The motel was good, big room, decent bathroom and kitchenette. The manager Paul was helpful and it wasnt too expensive. One or two tiny niggles but nothing really and the location despite no sea views was great

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Many thanks for your review and rating.Our location is great being right in the Heart of Paihia and 3 minute walking to shops,cafes and waterfront.Free Parking at all times(including when on tours).
We have some views from our upper floor,but our value reflects the price we charge.If on the waterfront the price increased greatly,and yet we are in a prime quiet location.Also great RSA 200 metres and fabulous food,and discounts on all tours.Free Wifi.
Kia Ora Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing