We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
“Time away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We found the motel very clean, tidy and also lovely/relaxing space to be in....the advantage of pay while/when you stay was a bonus. The location is only a short one minute walk from everything and so we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ruru1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for your great review it was good that your stay was pleasurable.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    131
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
118
125
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

After 3 weeks away from home it was great to find somewhere with a comfortable bed! Best night sleep since we left the UK.
The shower was also fab too.

The facilities are just as described and the room was really clean.
The Motel is only a 5 minutes walk from the shops, restaurant and the sea, so a perfect location.

The staff and management were really friendly, polite & helpful.

Would definitely recommend & would stay here again if we're lucky enough to come back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kJGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Many thanks for your review it was a pleasure to have you stay.Our recently installed new hot water system is certainly a hit with our guests and provides continuous flow all the time,adding to a comfortable stay in our motel.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good motel with clean and big family room and very close location to the Paihia town center.
Manager wasn't particularly friendly at reception. But overall, very satisfied with the room, the family room even has a massaging tub, although we had a rather short stay so didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Faye Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thanks for your great review.Sorry the management was not friendly and as I recall we had a reception full of people waiting to check in and we obliged you ahead of other people to check you in as you were due to catch an afternoon trip as you were running late.So it may have seemed a bit under pressure.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive and Paul immediately showed us to our room and offered us a cold beer on the house which was a nice touch- rooms had all you need- spacious and shower very powerful putting many top hotels to shame- recommended

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Many thanks again for a great review.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Hope we see you back here again.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The location of this motel is perfect. My family had a wonderful stay there. The manager and stuff there are really nice and helpful. On the day we arrived at the motel, the manager Paul gave us a warm welcome and prepared some snacks (milk and cookies) for us, thanks to him.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you all and glad you enjoyed your stay,and hope you return one day to the Bay of Islands.
Yes we are in a great location and easy walking to everywhere.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My friends and I spent one night here on our bay of Islands trip. Immediately we were greeted with friendly reception staff and even offered complimentary beers from the reception fridge-couldn't think of a better way to start our vacay! The reception was also very helpful with planning excursions and booking a fishing trip for us. The room itself was spacious, with privacy for a couple. The kitchen had everything we needed including a fridge, stovetop and dishwasher. The location is central pahia with a 2 minute walk to shops, restaurants and bars and a 5 min walk to the beach. Great budget friendly option!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks for your great review.It was a pleasure to have you all.
I try to instill good "Kiwi Hospitality" and after a hard drive I want my guests to feel at home.
Just the little things make the stay comfortable and in easy walking reach of everything.
Yes I have great contacts for all sorts of activities and can get some great deals.
All the best from the Bay of Islands.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel is mainly average, the kitchenette could do with a brush up, but if you need a bed and a shower the motel is great.
It's a 10-15 min walk from the ferry to Russell, and location was good in my opinion. Close enough without being deadcentre. I might not have seaview but I had the view of the hills.
Manager Paul was very friendly and helpful.
I'll come back to Dolphins Motel when I am in Paihia again =)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LouisePedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Louise it was great to meet you,and enjoyed have you here.However the Queen Studio you booked which is our smallest room in the complex is only advertised with Tea/Coffee facilities,Microwave,Sky Tv etc and a kitchenette is not advertised,For the value of $99 for peak period with own bathroom I reckon its good value,better than a backpackers,plus 1GB of free Wifi.
Also I agree that we are right in the centre of Paihia and its only 5 minutes walking to nearest shops ad not much further to the waterfront.
However it would be great to meet you again in the Bay of Islands,and hope th rest of your journey in New Zealand is good.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing