We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we stayed the nite the four of us”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we stayed the nite the four of us”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hi we stayed at this motel it meet our requirements and the owner/manager was very lovely,helpful and awesome we found the unit very clean and well appointed the only thing was the noisy neighbours which he has no control over but eventually all noise settled down and we had a great nites sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kerrie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Yes thanks for the review and sorry you had noisy neighbours who had imbibed a bit too much from a fruitful fishing trip,but our security on the premises calmed it down.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    132
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
119
126
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bourg-la-Reine, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Dolphin Motel is one of the best motel we had in NZ : clean, modern, new, confortable, perfect location, free wifi, and a very nice owner. Thanks Paul for your warm welcome! We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Greetings from Paul.Many thanks for the nice review.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Hope your trip back home was good.
Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador City, NL, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked our stay on-line and were not too sure what to expect. We met a fantastic innkeeper, who is very proud of his property, for good reason. Our bed was clean and inviting. The kitchen was well equipped for our purposes. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The location was just a few minutes walk to everything. So pleased. Thank you Paul!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brent Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for another great review.I am glad your stay exceeded expectations.Yes the new hot water system is brilliant,and as you say location is great.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We found the motel very clean, tidy and also lovely/relaxing space to be in....the advantage of pay while/when you stay was a bonus. The location is only a short one minute walk from everything and so we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ruru1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for your great review it was good that your stay was pleasurable.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

After 3 weeks away from home it was great to find somewhere with a comfortable bed! Best night sleep since we left the UK.
The shower was also fab too.

The facilities are just as described and the room was really clean.
The Motel is only a 5 minutes walk from the shops, restaurant and the sea, so a perfect location.

The staff and management were really friendly, polite & helpful.

Would definitely recommend & would stay here again if we're lucky enough to come back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kJGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Many thanks for your review it was a pleasure to have you stay.Our recently installed new hot water system is certainly a hit with our guests and provides continuous flow all the time,adding to a comfortable stay in our motel.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good motel with clean and big family room and very close location to the Paihia town center.
Manager wasn't particularly friendly at reception. But overall, very satisfied with the room, the family room even has a massaging tub, although we had a rather short stay so didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Faye Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thanks for your great review.Sorry the management was not friendly and as I recall we had a reception full of people waiting to check in and we obliged you ahead of other people to check you in as you were due to catch an afternoon trip as you were running late.So it may have seemed a bit under pressure.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive and Paul immediately showed us to our room and offered us a cold beer on the house which was a nice touch- rooms had all you need- spacious and shower very powerful putting many top hotels to shame- recommended

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Many thanks again for a great review.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Hope we see you back here again.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing