We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place for a stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice Place for a stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice, clean place in good location - no need to pay more for the larger apartment as t really is just another bedroom attached to the standard room. If there are only two of you do not spend the extra as there is no other benefit.

Room Tip: Do not book larger room unless there are more than two people in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM987789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for your review and comments.I recall I upgraded your unit free to a one bedroom from a studio,as we had a large group in at the time and I thought it would less intrusive for you,as they were rather boistrous.Sorry you thought the space too large but it should have been a bonus for you.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    125
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
116
119
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night the rooms were very clean and close walk to town.our unit had very comfortable. Beds good tv and shower i would stay hear again just for the yarns with the maniger who went out of his way to make us at home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Exclent host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW
Many thanks for your review Peter.I am glad you enjoyed at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I don't very often take the trouble to write reviews, but in the case of the Dolphin Motel I feel compelled. The Dolphin Motel is, without doubt, the best maintained motel I have had the pleasure of staying in in NZ. Our room was immaculately clean and everything was in it's place and worked just as it should (so often not the case in motel's in my experience).

Our trip to Paihia took a bit of a turn for the worse when the battery on my motorbike died leaving me stranded and transportless. Our host, Paul, secured a hotel room for me up the road (the Dolphin was fully booked) so I could stay an extra night to track down a replacement battery. He helped me find a replacement battery and even took me to Kerikeri to pick it up! Absolutely outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paranoid-Marvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
It was a pleasure to have your family stay and thanks for the kind words.It was all in the days work and getting your problem solved and getting you back on the road in the quickest possible time was my aim.
Hope you come back again sometime
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Manager very friendly. Offered us an afternoon ale after we settled in. We got 10% off our tours booking through him. Also he offered to sort out our toll for our return trip to Auckland as we were in a rental car.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
It was a pleasure to have you.Thanks for the great review and rating.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Only stayed the one night, but it was very clean & spaceish. We had a value deal, so it was great value. The owner directed us to the local RSA for the evening meal, which was great value for the cost. We would recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank algor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Appreciate the review.Yes indeed the RSA is a great place to end with their Legends Restaurant there.
Also we are so close to all the shops and other restaurants as well.
I hope to see you again sometime.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hi we stayed at this motel it meet our requirements and the owner/manager was very lovely,helpful and awesome we found the unit very clean and well appointed the only thing was the noisy neighbours which he has no control over but eventually all noise settled down and we had a great nites sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kerrie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Yes thanks for the review and sorry you had noisy neighbours who had imbibed a bit too much from a fruitful fishing trip,but our security on the premises calmed it down.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourg-la-Reine, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Dolphin Motel is one of the best motel we had in NZ : clean, modern, new, confortable, perfect location, free wifi, and a very nice owner. Thanks Paul for your warm welcome! We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Greetings from Paul.Many thanks for the nice review.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Hope your trip back home was good.
Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing