We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money in the Bay Of Islands”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dolphin Motel for 2 nights in a king studio. The stay was extremely comfortable, in a very clean room with a well equipped kitchen - although it didn't have an oven it did have a dishwasher, which more than made up for it! The location is great, with or without a car. Most importantly we were greeted by the owner Paul who was very welcoming, and even offered us free milk and beer for our stay. This place is a great find, and compared to other motels we've stayed at in NZ, Dolphin Motel represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelasthobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

I really appreciate your positive comments.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We popped in to inquire about a room for the day and night, due to it being off season the owner 'Paul' (really nice guy) offered us the corner apartment which was huge, great kitchen and loads of space for us and our 7 month old baby boy to relax.
Its near the beach but set back enough for it to be quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner apartments if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks for your great review.Hope to see you back here in the future.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had asked for an apartment for 4 and we got a HUGE apartment which could have accommodated 7 persons! There was a real kitchen with everything you need for a long stay. The hotel is very clean and very close to the city center with all the shops and restaurants you need.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie45720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Bonjour and Merci for the great review and comments.Yes our two bedroom Family Unit is great for 4-7 people and we have an adjoining unit which can add another 2.It also have aircon and BBQ/ Full Kitchen facilities and a Spa Bath.We also have 2 more 2 Bedroom Standard Units.
Bon Voyage Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice, clean place in good location - no need to pay more for the larger apartment as t really is just another bedroom attached to the standard room. If there are only two of you do not spend the extra as there is no other benefit.

Room Tip: Do not book larger room unless there are more than two people in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM987789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thanks for your review and comments.I recall I upgraded your unit free to a one bedroom from a studio,as we had a large group in at the time and I thought it would less intrusive for you,as they were rather boistrous.Sorry you thought the space too large but it should have been a bonus for you.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night the rooms were very clean and close walk to town.our unit had very comfortable. Beds good tv and shower i would stay hear again just for the yarns with the maniger who went out of his way to make us at home.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Exclent host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW
Many thanks for your review Peter.I am glad you enjoyed at our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I don't very often take the trouble to write reviews, but in the case of the Dolphin Motel I feel compelled. The Dolphin Motel is, without doubt, the best maintained motel I have had the pleasure of staying in in NZ. Our room was immaculately clean and everything was in it's place and worked just as it should (so often not the case in motel's in my experience).

Our trip to Paihia took a bit of a turn for the worse when the battery on my motorbike died leaving me stranded and transportless. Our host, Paul, secured a hotel room for me up the road (the Dolphin was fully booked) so I could stay an extra night to track down a replacement battery. He helped me find a replacement battery and even took me to Kerikeri to pick it up! Absolutely outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paranoid-Marvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

It was a pleasure to have your family stay and thanks for the kind words.It was all in the days work and getting your problem solved and getting you back on the road in the quickest possible time was my aim.
Hope you come back again sometime
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Manager very friendly. Offered us an afternoon ale after we settled in. We got 10% off our tours booking through him. Also he offered to sort out our toll for our return trip to Auckland as we were in a rental car.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

It was a pleasure to have you.Thanks for the great review and rating.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.4 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £41 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing