We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy2”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Busy2”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great Location and very good value. We spent 3 Nights at this Motel. Lovely clean Rooms. Staff very friendly. Close to shops and Rsa restaurant .....First unit we saw was under the stairs which would have been cold (no Sun) so we decided to go up stairs which was much better ...Always ask for a nice sunny unit. Although we had the car we walked to most places.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice sunny Unit. Less noise up Stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Many thanks for your review,and great to know you had stayed with us before.Glad you enjoyed your stay.Normally all of our rooms are sunny but with the approach of the season we have short day light hours,and sometimes the sun plays tricks!!
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    132
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
119
126
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The owner Paul was really friendly and accommodating throughout our stay, starting with a welcome beer! He booked the trips we wanted to do and also organised to paid out toll charges for our drive up from Auckland.
The room was clean and spacious and felt more like an apartment. Its a great location close to the beach and restaurants.
Nothing but praise, hope to come back soon. Great stay- thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartleyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your great review.Its humbling to have people appreciate our property and the hospitality we give to make your stay pleasant.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dolphin Motel for 2 nights in a king studio. The stay was extremely comfortable, in a very clean room with a well equipped kitchen - although it didn't have an oven it did have a dishwasher, which more than made up for it! The location is great, with or without a car. Most importantly we were greeted by the owner Paul who was very welcoming, and even offered us free milk and beer for our stay. This place is a great find, and compared to other motels we've stayed at in NZ, Dolphin Motel represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelasthobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
I really appreciate your positive comments.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muffin1978
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We popped in to inquire about a room for the day and night, due to it being off season the owner 'Paul' (really nice guy) offered us the corner apartment which was huge, great kitchen and loads of space for us and our 7 month old baby boy to relax.
Its near the beach but set back enough for it to be quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner apartments if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks for your great review.Hope to see you back here in the future.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had asked for an apartment for 4 and we got a HUGE apartment which could have accommodated 7 persons! There was a real kitchen with everything you need for a long stay. The hotel is very clean and very close to the city center with all the shops and restaurants you need.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie45720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Bonjour and Merci for the great review and comments.Yes our two bedroom Family Unit is great for 4-7 people and we have an adjoining unit which can add another 2.It also have aircon and BBQ/ Full Kitchen facilities and a Spa Bath.We also have 2 more 2 Bedroom Standard Units.
Bon Voyage Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice, clean place in good location - no need to pay more for the larger apartment as t really is just another bedroom attached to the standard room. If there are only two of you do not spend the extra as there is no other benefit.

Room Tip: Do not book larger room unless there are more than two people in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM987789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for your review and comments.I recall I upgraded your unit free to a one bedroom from a studio,as we had a large group in at the time and I thought it would less intrusive for you,as they were rather boistrous.Sorry you thought the space too large but it should have been a bonus for you.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night the rooms were very clean and close walk to town.our unit had very comfortable. Beds good tv and shower i would stay hear again just for the yarns with the maniger who went out of his way to make us at home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Exclent host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW
Many thanks for your review Peter.I am glad you enjoyed at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#12 of 43 in Paihia
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing