We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Good price.”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel, Good price.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good service. Clean room. Location close to town center and ferry. Free parking and WIFI.I am recomendet this hotel. Good place for holiday.Very friendly hotel staff. Very quiet. Pleasantly spent time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valdi2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for your nice response and comments.Hope you have/had a good trip back to the UK.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    132
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
119
126
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Dolphin Motel. It was very clean, the staff were very polite. It was great to be able to just walk into the town centre. There are many attractions to do in Paihia. We caught the fairy over to russell & went for a trip to Waitangi which is just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ShazPownall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Much appreciated your comments and rating.I am glad you had an awesome weekend away and the "Sun" shone for you as well.It would be great to meet you all again in the future.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very clean and tidy. Nice comfortable beds. We were all impressed with the unit. Friendly owner and staff. My only concern was dishwasher was broken, however this was to be fixed later on the day we left.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 87Jane252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Very clean and tidy. Nice comfortable beds. We were all impressed with the unit. Friendly owner and staff. My only concern was dishwasher was broken, however this was to be fixed later on the day we left.
Thanks for your comment.I hope you visit us again sometime.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our party of 5 adults have just enjoyed a 3 night stay in the 2bdrm family apartment. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the unit and found the beds and everything else very comfortable. The Dolphin Motel is ideally situated to walk the main street to the esplanade. The manager, Paul, was very hospitable and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaynGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great Location and very good value. We spent 3 Nights at this Motel. Lovely clean Rooms. Staff very friendly. Close to shops and Rsa restaurant .....First unit we saw was under the stairs which would have been cold (no Sun) so we decided to go up stairs which was much better ...Always ask for a nice sunny unit. Although we had the car we walked to most places.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice sunny Unit. Less noise up Stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Many thanks for your review,and great to know you had stayed with us before.Glad you enjoyed your stay.Normally all of our rooms are sunny but with the approach of the season we have short day light hours,and sometimes the sun plays tricks!!
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The owner Paul was really friendly and accommodating throughout our stay, starting with a welcome beer! He booked the trips we wanted to do and also organised to paid out toll charges for our drive up from Auckland.
The room was clean and spacious and felt more like an apartment. Its a great location close to the beach and restaurants.
Nothing but praise, hope to come back soon. Great stay- thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartleyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your great review.Its humbling to have people appreciate our property and the hospitality we give to make your stay pleasant.
All the best Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dolphin Motel for 2 nights in a king studio. The stay was extremely comfortable, in a very clean room with a well equipped kitchen - although it didn't have an oven it did have a dishwasher, which more than made up for it! The location is great, with or without a car. Most importantly we were greeted by the owner Paul who was very welcoming, and even offered us free milk and beer for our stay. This place is a great find, and compared to other motels we've stayed at in NZ, Dolphin Motel represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelasthobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
I really appreciate your positive comments.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing