We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay with a great host”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Dolphin Motel. We arrived late in the evening and luckily Paul had one room left! When we got to our room it was very spacious, had a neat tidy small kitchen with everything that you may need including a dishwasher! The bathroom was lovely and modern with a great hot power shower. The bed was big and extremely comfortable - the comfiest bed I have come across in a motel/hotel so far. Wifi and a few sky channels were also offered. The location is great 5/10minute walk to the beach front and the town set back far enough for it to be nice and quiet yet close enough that you didn't need to drive anywhere. We were running a little late in the morning to catch our boat trip but Paul kindly offered for us to leave our car there and he dropped us into town! If we had longer we would have defiantly stayed another night or two. It is very cheap for what you get, I would have been happy to pay a lot more for this room. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone that has a visit in Paihia. Thanks Paul for being a great host!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazza1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Shazza it was a pleasure having you.Glad you enjoyed your stay,and was able to assist.
Hope you visit us again sometime.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

It was a nice stay I enjoyed it. nice location , warm rooms, nice beds and excellent cleaning. Moreover motel manager was nice to us guided us well. I recommend this place to live it you are looking for cheap and best service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devinder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Many thanks Devinder for your comments and rating.Much appreciated.
Hope to see you,family and friends again sometime in the future.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The studio we stayed in was great, really comfortable bed tidy and new styled room.
We were lucky enough to be able to check in early as well Paul was very accommodating.
would definitely stay again loved our room! close to all restaurants and beach !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Much appreciate your comments Terina and it was great to meet you and will return in the future.
Yes we are close to everything here,right in the heart of Paihia and always offer good value and standard.
Once again many thanks.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in Dolphin Motel for three nights as our base for the Northland leg of our trip. We booked the two bedroom apartment for our family of four and had a great time. What made the stay even better was the genuine friendliness of Paul, the owner of the property.

The unit we booked was spotless and had everything we needed. It had an ensuite bathroom, a flat screen TV, ref, microwave, stove, and heater for the cold nights. It even had a dishwasher which was very handy since it freed us from manually cleaning crockery and utensils. For laundry needs, washer and drier were available for a fee. Parking was not an issue since free onsite parking was provided. Another big advantage of Dolphin motel was the free unlimited wifi which allowed us to check emails and book our activities online.

The location was a big plus since it was just walking distance from the center of town and wharf and yet nestled in a quiet place away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments.It was a pleasure to have you stay.Hope you and Family return to see us again sometime here in the Bay of Islands.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good service. Clean room. Location close to town center and ferry. Free parking and WIFI.I am recomendet this hotel. Good place for holiday.Very friendly hotel staff. Very quiet. Pleasantly spent time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valdi2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for your nice response and comments.Hope you have/had a good trip back to the UK.
All the best Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Dolphin Motel. It was very clean, the staff were very polite. It was great to be able to just walk into the town centre. There are many attractions to do in Paihia. We caught the fairy over to russell & went for a trip to Waitangi which is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ShazPownall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Much appreciated your comments and rating.I am glad you had an awesome weekend away and the "Sun" shone for you as well.It would be great to meet you all again in the future.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very clean and tidy. Nice comfortable beds. We were all impressed with the unit. Friendly owner and staff. My only concern was dishwasher was broken, however this was to be fixed later on the day we left.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 87Jane252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Very clean and tidy. Nice comfortable beds. We were all impressed with the unit. Friendly owner and staff. My only concern was dishwasher was broken, however this was to be fixed later on the day we left.
Thanks for your comment.I hope you visit us again sometime.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.4 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £35 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing