We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B&B in Paihia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We enjoyed our short stay at the Decks of Paihia. Tastefully furnished and equiped bed room and bathroom with balcony/deck overlooking the Bay. The walk up and down the hill to get to the town centre did not pose a problem. Phil was an excellent host and very informative on places to visit. Would have liked to stay longer. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to revisit North Island and stay at the Decks of Paihia again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

We were welcomed by Phil the owner of this well designed purpose built bed and breakfast. The rooms were superb and catered for our every need and Phil could not have been more helpful regarding places to visit whilst we were in Paihia. He prepared breakfasts himself and they were great. I would definitely recommend staying here...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is an excellent place to stay, the host Phil is a super chap and always on hand to suggest places to dine at or visit. The property is set 10 mins walk from the beach with a great view, the rooms are done to a very high standard and offer a great environment for R&R. Parking can be a little challenging at the property due to a tight slope but apart from that you will be hard pressed to find many faults.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mully1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

DecksofPaihia is a beautiful and very comfortable, clean hotel, Phil is a very friendly and helpful host, I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. It is situated up quitea steep hill, so if you have walking difficulties but have use of a car this should prove no problem. I would certainly like to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyboyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed at the Decks of Paihia along with my partner for 4 days during our trip to the Bay of Islands. It was perfectly located with easy access to all the area has to offer. The house was spectacular and our private room was a simple paradise with gorgeous views across the bay. After a long trip over and a few disappointing hotels along the way, it was a pleasure to stay with Phil and Wendy. They made us feel right at home and filled our stomachs with a lovely breakfast each morning (I still miss those muffins!).

There is no better place to stay while visiting the Bay of Islands!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_Tahria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We even got our washing done by Phil. The pool was great to relax in as it helped me to cool down.
Phil and Wendy made us feel part of the family. We enjoyed the friendly breakfasts.

Rodger and Ann Thom

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KINGSKNOWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights after a fairly long drive from Auckland. The Decks of Paihia has three very comfortable bedrooms with patio doors leading onto a deck (with an open-air pool which we didn’t use as the weather wasn’t warm enough), overlooking the wooded valley that leads to the coast. You couldn’t see the coast from our bedroom but could get a glimpse from the breakfast room downstairs. The B&B was15 minutes walk from the sea front up a very steep hill.

Phil, our very welcoming host, provided us with a very good breakfast. The bedroom was very comfortable but lacked the storage space we needed for our 6-week holiday (3 cases) so we only part unpacked.

Overall a very good experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikesToTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.2 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
0.2 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 21 in Paihia
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 69 School Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £94 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Paihia above the main village with great views, your friendly hosts Philip and Wendy Hopkinson have spent 2 decades in hospitality. A superior standard of accommodation in poolside rooms surrounded by peaceful private gardens abundant with birdlife. They are keen to share their extensive knowledge of the Northland region and New Zealand. Guest rooms stylishly furnished, heated and air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable interiors. Complimentary wireless internet. Separate guest lounge adjacent to all rooms to relax in, or enjoy a relaxing afternoon poolside on the deck outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decks Of Paihia Luxury Bed And Breakfast Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing