We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great position”
Reviewed 25 October 2007

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Edgewater Palms apartments in Paihia. We opted for a 2 bedroom apartment to treat ourselves to the luxury of a sea view from our bed and we were not disappointed - even saw dolphins swimming by one day.
The complex is in easy walking distance to the pier and the town centre and a great place to either 'chill out' and do nothing, or as a base to return to after visiting some of the other sites around the Bay of Islands and Northlands.
We found the apartment ideal - could cook in the gorgeous kitchen (with a view) or eat out and stroll back 'home'.
The on-site secure parking is a bonus.

  • Liked — The position and the standard of the accommodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Molly003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    49
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
76
91
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2007

This has got to be the best place to stay in Paihia. It's just steps to the beach, a short flat walk to the cafes, shops and wharf etc, the managers are super friendly, and there's this cool saltwater infinity pool. The apartment we stayed in had awesome seaviews - you could sit on the deck and watch all the activity in the bay. The complex was nice and quiet, and the rooms spacious - we were travelling with toddlers so we had everything we needed - cots, highchairs etc were complimentary (in other apartments we've stayed in we've had to pay for this), and we booked a babysitter so we could have a night out and she was fantastic, arrived on time and managed our girls really well. What's more it didn't cost a fortune! Also (we had a two brm apartment), both bedrooms had their own ensuite - so we're planning to return soon again with friends. I really rate this place.

  • Liked — Very comfortable, modern & clean. Underground carparking
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DONZAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

We were slightly aprehensive about staying at the Edgewater Palms. We had booked it over the internet and although we had been to New Zealand before we had never been to Paihia. After a three hour drive we were quite tired when we arrived but were very pleasantly suprised by the warm welcome at the hotel.
The apartment was very well equipped and extremely clean with a fantastic view over the bay. We stayed for six nights but wished it had been much longer. It is really handy for the local shops and restaurants and an ideal gateway to all the watersports and trips which leave Paihia daily. We were there for New Year's Eve and had a spectacular view of the fireworks in the bay from our balcony. Our children loved the infinity pool and the sandy beach across the road. Also the carpark was a definite bonus it saved having to look for spaces every evening. We would most definitely stay there again without hesitation!!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank MaryMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2006

We found the hotel on Tripadvisor and decided to stay there for just one night. When we arrived my husband said that the people who manage and live in the condo/hotel were the friendliest people he had ever met. We were very happy with the 2 bdrm. unit we rented for ourselves and our 2 young children and the 1 bdrm. unit we rented right next to us for the nanny we were traveling with. The units were new, extremely clean and beautifully decorated. We felt very relaxed and at home there. The kitchens were well stocked with all the equipment you would need for making small meals and there was a washer/dryer machine. We ended up staying for 3 and will absolutely stay there again if we are ever back in the Bay of Islands. We thougt the prices were very fair, cheap in fact. We had been staying at the Penthouse Suite in the Hyatt in downtown Auckland for the prior 8 nights and were paying $650.00 NZ per night.

Helpful?
11 Thank KellyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2006

New, upscale, ultra modern, managed apartment complex with exceptional views of the Bay of Islands. Small complex on the main road in Paihia, opposite the ocean, with gorgeous landscaping and pool. Luxurious bed and bedding, small but well fitted out kitchen nook, washer/dryer in the marbled bathroom. Each unit has its own balcony with table and chairs. The staff is gracious and welcoming. There is a cafe next door and several restaurants within walking distance. We hiked to and from the Waitangi Treaty Grounds without difficulty.

Helpful?
15 Thank Arlgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Palms Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms Apartments

Property: Edgewater Palms Apartments
Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Ramada Suites Paihia)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater Palms Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater Palms Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia
Edgewater Palms Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing