We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Stayed at edgewater palms for 5 nights at the end of Feb. I agree with everything the
previous reviewer has said ! We liked Pahia very much and the couple who run the
apartments could not have been more pleasant or efficient. We would not hesitate in
recommending these apartments. If you can, get an apartment on a higher floor as the
view is stunning.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    49
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
75
90
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed at Edgewater Palms over the Christmas holidays. Our family of 6 found our 2 bedroom unit to be spacious, clean, and well appointed. The location across the street from the beach and just a short walk from town was ideal. Coffee shops, restaurants, grocery store, pier/ferry to Russell, etc just up the street. Pool, grounds were kept very clean. The pool, in the center of the complex, is small (narrow, and long), the pool deck was small as well, but the pool was never over crowded. The views from our room and the pool were very nice. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Edgewater again. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyOnTheeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

The hotel was great. Clean, modern rooms fully equipped with dishwasher, drier 40" plasma etc... unfortunately no air conditioning. Car park is located underground, very secure but has very tight exit. Notice several paint scrapes on the exit wall!.

Nice smimming pool and spa but entry gates where chained closed the majority of the time we were there with no explanation. Male staff at the resort was inhospitable and very rude. He spoilt the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbumAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We arrived and were told about a deal the Edgewater had where if you stayed 2 nights you got a one bedroom apartment for $135NZ per night. However, it turned out they only had a 2 bedroom apartment available so they gave us that room for the same deal. We ended up staying four nights and loved it. For us, at that price, it was fantastic value for money. The apartment was very spacious and had a fabulous kitchen - it had all the utensils and cutlery we required. Washing machine/dryer in the apartment were also appreciated. We did find the benchtops and door peephole were at an odd height - luckily we are not tall people so it wasn't a problem, though you would get a sore back if you spent the day on food preparation in the kitchen.
Large lounge area and LCD TV with access to many TV channels.
Bathroom floor was heated and towel rails heated. The room was lovely and warm. We didn't have a beach view, but the apartment overlooked the pool and spa area and had a large outdoor balcony and lovely outdoor furniture.
Approx 8 minute walk to main shops. Paihia and Bay of Islands is a wonderful place to stay - very picturesque and comfortabley warm - even in October. a welcome relief after cold days (including snow) 8 - 12 degrees throughout the rest of NZ.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Extremely nice apartments. Very relaxing and quiet. Great views. Nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed for 6 days, the location is across the road from the beach and a short stroll to cafes, shops & wharf. Unfortunately we found the one bedroom apartment furnishings were not the standard of a 5 star complex and it had no airconditioning. Very noisy at the front as the windows are not double glazed.The bedroom was very hot in Feb, design of windows doesn't allow for any air. No coathangers in wardrobe, for hanging clothes .If you want your room serviced daily it will cost you $30.00 extra a day.Rooms are only serviced afer 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riversleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Excellent, Fantastic, Amazing.... what more can be said about the Edgewater Palms rooms and staff. From the evening we arrived to the morning we (very sadly and with much reluctance) left, we were greeted by warm welcoming friendly staff.
We arrived quite late at the hotel and sheepishly walked to the reception area to be greeted by a friendly face with our registration forms all ready to go, we signed in and were directed to our room..... and by room I mean luxury apartment. The room was amazing, it had everything we could need from cooking to laundry facilities, DVD player to outdoor seating for alfresco dinners cooked on the bbq by the pool.
The pool and spa were just the ticket after a great day packed with activities in "The Bay". The Managers of Edgewater were very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and any trips or activities we wanted to undertake, even offering suggestions for days when we were unsure of what to do next (We would have been happy to stay in the apartment or laze by the pool and spa the hotel was that wonderful).
It was hard to leave but I know we will return.

  • Liked — Rooms and Staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieWildBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Palms Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms Apartments

Property: Edgewater Palms Apartments
Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Ramada Suites Paihia)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater Palms Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Palms Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia
Edgewater Palms Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing