We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning view with warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Appledore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Samut Prakan, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning view with warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived there late evening with heavy rain. The place is lovely. Stunning view to the river. The water level in the river is very high, the tide is very strong . The room is very clean and comfortable. The owners are nice and very helpful. We got useful advices from Colleen & Ashley how to spend a quality time in Paihia. In addition, the owners are kind enough to arrange the mailing service to send the chargers, that we left behind , to another hotel for us to pick up upon arrival. Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jirapannee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to learn about your travels. We are delighted that you received the phone charger before heading back home. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
174
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We began our 5 1/2 week journey through NZ starting in Appledorelodge . We arrived mid afternoon and were treated to a refreshing tea with some home baking . Some wonderful advice was offered and we opted to take it. We did one day trip by bus to Cape Reinga via the beach and a cruise into the Bay. We did lots of wandering on our own as well. The cabin exceeded expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sandy and Mary Lou, Thank you for your kind words. We thought of you on your cruise and are so glad you enjoyed it and seeing New Zealand. Happy travels through Canada in your caravan this summer! You sure do get around- fabulous.Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stunning view to the river, the owners are lovely and helpful! This is the place to stay in Pahia. Excellent starting point for excursions, very quiet and peaceful place. We had a perfect stay, will stay longer the next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Martina and Lars, Thank you for your lovely review, and we do hope to welcome you back again for a longer stay- lots to do!! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A wonderful welcome by the hosts, great accommodation, terrific fresh breakfasts and fantastically comfortable beds in an idyllic setting overlooking and just 5 steps away from the Waitangi River. Couldn't have been better!
Thanks for a great weekend Colleen and Ash.

Martin & Denise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - it simply depends on the travellers' requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selocnitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
You were such fun to have around and we are always delighted when guests have a great time here. We feel quite special that you chose Appledore Lodge for your special celebrations- come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is our second visit to Appledore Lodge and we are already planning our next visit. Colleen & Ashley are wonderful hosts & justly proud of their beautiful property nestled on the banks of the river. The lodge is perfectly situated for easy access to everything that Northland offers. Each time we visit we find some new experience to surprise & delight.

I know that any overseas visitor who stays here will go home with a wonderful enduring memory of Kiwi hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
It is always a delight to welcome back previous guests- thank you for your positive comments and we are very pleased that you enjoy visiting us here on the river! We hope to see you back again soon - the weather in April and May is even better than in summer- just glorious! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sare, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

A big thank you to our hosts for making our stay so lovely and memorable.All the information was duly taken in and ideas of places followed with great success.
What a welcoming place in a beautiful part of New Zealand!
We would recommend to any of our friends wishing to go "down" under.
From the 2 sisters...
...Encore une fois ,merci
Sylvie and Katherine

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us, Sylvie and Katherine. Your enthusiasm and joy in seeing everything and doing the trips was delightful to witness. Good luck with getting your photo albums put together! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham
Level Contributor
628 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What a truly fabulous place. The location is superb, right on the river, with ducks in the garden, birds singing and sheep in the hills. It is situated 6km out of the town of Paihia and there are lots of restaurants to eat in there in the evenings, plus it's easy to park. The décor is absolutely beautiful and all colour co-ordinated. There is everything available in the apartment, fridge, microwave, breakfast goodies. The bathroom is immaculate with lovely fluffy towels. There is also a picnic table and chairs on your own section of patio. There is a very nice pool which is lovely on a hot day and it is very clean and well maintained.

Colleen and Ashley made us incredibly welcome and explained to us a lot about the area, the various trips, things to do and recommended restaurants. They serviced the room every day and it was always beautifully done, even down to the nicely decorated toilet roll.

It was wonderful waking up to the views outside and having breakfast on the patio. We really didn't want to leave and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Heather and Phil, what fun it was having you both to stay with us at Appledore Lodge. Thank you for your lovely review. We so enjoyed getting to know you a little and are following your progress through NZ with great interest. Apart from the recent cyclone, the weather is as warm and pleasant as when you were here and the ducks continue to nag us for their breakfast and dinner! Have a fabulous rest of your trip and we hope to see you both again- perhaps when we visit the UK next:) Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
4.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
3.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Property: Appledore Lodge
Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover tranquility and peace to the sound of the Waitangi River gently tumbling over miniature waterfalls and rapids, set in two acres of gently sloping pasture land and only 25 meters from the river bank, you will be spellbound by the views from your pillow and all of our accommodation with 1 kilometer of uninterrupted river frontage views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing