We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull setting overlooking tranquil river & just a few minutes ftom Paihia”
Review of Appledore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
barnstaple.uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifull setting overlooking tranquil river & just a few minutes ftom Paihia”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed 4 nights here in one of their riverside suites. The suites are well appointed with a veranda overlooking a beautiful landscape garden running down to a tranquil river. Great for bird watching and the resident ducks will pay you a visit from time to time. In addition, the attention, helpfulness & touring advice from the owners Jim & Janet was outstanding. They seemed to assess our preferences well and were able to provide daily itineraries that enabled us to make the most of our stay in the Bay of Islands. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend Appledore Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HortonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
176
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

You'll love staying at this b&b, if you love nature (if not, try to stay in one of the towns). Appledore Lodge is some 6 km outside Paihia, so you definitely need a car to stay there. The rooms are all overlooking a lovely river and green pastures (excellent bird-watching as well). Unfortunately there is some noise from the main street, but it's not too bad at night.
The rooms are wonderful, spacious with a kitchen, a terrace, a glass front and very nice furniture. You'll have breakfast in your own room, borught to you the night before.
There is a swimming pool and a spa to use, bathrobes are provided.
Janet and Jim are lovely hosts (they are not even upset by nighttime calls from time-confused German relatives back home) who are eager to give you lots of advice on what to do during your stay. They can also book you in, which saves you time in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2009

we stayed 3 nights, enjoyed our time, helpful and nice hosts; for your first impression look at the photos of appledore lodge, a wonderfull place to stay

helga + willi

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2009

A wonderful B&B, Janet and Jim were amazing hosts, making us feel so welcome and no request was ever too much..... The location is beautiful, peaceful, in beautifully landscaped gardens on the edge of the river.... It was picture perfect and a wonderful slice of luxury for our holiday.....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonshireDumpling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights and were upgraded to the self contained cottage. It was simply amazing , beautiful views over looking the river, lavious breakfast hampers each morning and hosts that went out of their way to confirm any activities that you have planned. Cannot recommend Appledore highly enough...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed only one night in a self-containing unit with Jim and Janet. Unit with living/full equiped kitchen, seperate bath and sleepingroom was very comfortable and spacious with an excellent view on the river.
Aplledore Lodge is a perfect location to explore the Bay of Islands.
Jim and Janet really helped us to plan our activities.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans_Sijnesael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Jim and Janet couldn't have been more thoughtful, helpful hosts. The location for this B & B is world class--don't miss it. We picked this property as a result of Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed in any way. We're also glad that we chose spending 3 days in the Bay of Islands. This is a great place to re-charge your batteries--while being pampered by exceptionally caring hosts.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doulahubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
1.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
3.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
223 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Property: Appledore Lodge
Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover tranquility and peace to the sound of the Waitangi River gently tumbling over miniature waterfalls and rapids, set in two acres of gently sloping pasture land and only 25 meters from the river bank, you will be spellbound by the views from your pillow and all of our accommodation with 1 kilometer of uninterrupted river frontage views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing