We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...just super-duper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Appledore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
EU in NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“...just super-duper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Janet and Jim Pugh - their hospitality was super-duper!
Riverside Studio - we, 32 and 34 years old, stayed there for two days - the rooms and the veranda was super-duper!
We would love to come back at any time :-)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytouristEUinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
174
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

An excellently located B&B with great views and very helpful hosts.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leefdaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
209 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

After Auckland, this was the 'real' beginning of our trip through New Zealand, and we were lucky with our first B&B. Janet and Jim welcomed us with open arms, and were very helpful to book our trip on the Dolphin boat for the day after.
The breakfast was just wonderful, although we missed a bit the possibility of eating it with the other guests and/or the hosts. But sitting on the deck, regarding the river it was a great experience too :-)
The room was very clean, big and cosy, and Janet and Jim gave us lots of advices (we loved Only Seafood !!!)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Herts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

The new outdoor heated pool and spa at Appledore was just what we wanted after driving to this outstanding accommodation. Ideally set in the grounds with a geat view, the pool and the spa are a great way to relax.

We stayed at Appledore for 6 nights and had a great time. The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast substantial, and the grounds kept immaculate.

Both Janet and Jim are excellent hosts with a mine of local information and put themselves out to make sure you enjoy your stay with them.

Can't be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

Appledore lodge offers five star accomodation in a most wonderful setting. A river runs through the property and the views are breathtaking. The accomodation itself is the best we found in NZ during our three week stay, and we stayed in ten places in all. It represents oustanding value for money and the hosts are delightful. The addition of a swimming pool this year make this an absolutely fantastic location. Breakfast is to be had on the veranda overlooking the river and extensive grounds. If you have a helicopter it takes that too as a small one landed for one night when we were there.
This really is a gem and a place not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananaman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnstaple.uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed 4 nights here in one of their riverside suites. The suites are well appointed with a veranda overlooking a beautiful landscape garden running down to a tranquil river. Great for bird watching and the resident ducks will pay you a visit from time to time. In addition, the attention, helpfulness & touring advice from the owners Jim & Janet was outstanding. They seemed to assess our preferences well and were able to provide daily itineraries that enabled us to make the most of our stay in the Bay of Islands. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend Appledore Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HortonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

You'll love staying at this b&b, if you love nature (if not, try to stay in one of the towns). Appledore Lodge is some 6 km outside Paihia, so you definitely need a car to stay there. The rooms are all overlooking a lovely river and green pastures (excellent bird-watching as well). Unfortunately there is some noise from the main street, but it's not too bad at night.
The rooms are wonderful, spacious with a kitchen, a terrace, a glass front and very nice furniture. You'll have breakfast in your own room, borught to you the night before.
There is a swimming pool and a spa to use, bathrobes are provided.
Janet and Jim are lovely hosts (they are not even upset by nighttime calls from time-confused German relatives back home) who are eager to give you lots of advice on what to do during your stay. They can also book you in, which saves you time in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
4.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
3.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Property: Appledore Lodge
Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover tranquility and peace to the sound of the Waitangi River gently tumbling over miniature waterfalls and rapids, set in two acres of gently sloping pasture land and only 25 meters from the river bank, you will be spellbound by the views from your pillow and all of our accommodation with 1 kilometer of uninterrupted river frontage views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing