We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accommodation in New Zealand”
Review of Appledore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2007

After spending a month travelling the North & South Islands, staying at Appledore Lodge for 5 days at the beginning of our adventure, we were really spoilt by the standard of the accommodation and the attention to detail to make our stay memorable by Janet & Jim.
Over the next three weeks we stayed in all different styles of accommodation from B&B to 5* hotels and we felt we had to travel back to Appledore Lodge for the last 4 days of our holiday to make sure we were not 'dreaming' the first time.
The location by the river, the food, accommodation & hosts was 5*. We would not hesitate to recommend Appledore Lodge to anyone.
Looking forward to our next visit.
Paul & Lucy

Stayed: February 2003
1  Thank barumboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2007

Janet and Jim made us very welcome at their lovely riverside home,it had a very relaxing atmosphere and a beautiful garden with amazing views. There was everything that we needed for our three day visit to the Bay of Islands.The breakfasts were yummy, especially the yogurt, and it was very nice to sit and eat out on the decking. We were sorry to leave Appledore Lodge and can recommend it for a long or short break.

Janet and Eric. (Leicester.U.K.)

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananamanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2007

As a single Female Traveller arriving here surpassed my expectations, WOW is the first impression and then it gets better.
All rooms have River views and own decking with shade if needed, just the TOPS.
Delicious filling breakfast, home made Bread, Jam and Yoghurt, plus varied cooked, a great start..
Janet and Jim's suggestions, and booking if necessary to fill the days, plus help with forward bookings could not be improved on.
Take a glass of wine and sit beside the River or unwind in the Hot Tub, both a treat not available very often..
For all visitors the Hosts are the bonus that made my stay so memorable.
Appledore lodge should NOT be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hotgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Lovely spot, charming hosts.

The highlight was being served wine whilst soaking in the hot tub, overlooking the river , and then there was the comet !!

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank GardenersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2007

We really liked our stay at Appledore Lodge: large room with super bed, nice view on the river from our private deck.
Janet and Jim made us feel very welcome, good English humour and super breakfast. Wonderful hosts!

Peter & Carina Rutten, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank didohaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2007

Hubby and I stayed had a lovely time at Appledore Lodge in august 2005. It was our first true B & B experience in NZ, leaving behind fond memories of Janet, Jim and Misty.

We took the 8.15am Intercity coach from Auckland and arrived at Paihia 12.40pm. Had a yummy calamari salad lunch near the info centre before friendly, amicable Jim came to pick us up.

The drive to the lodge is about 10mins I think (maybe Janet can do it in 7)- iI cant quite remember but I do know its definitely too far to walk there with all the luggage.

On arrival, we were told they would be upgrading us to the Cottage as the rooms in the main house were still undergoing some renovation. The cottage is just beside the main house...see the photos. Very clean, spacious, cozy & well equipped and designed.

Janet, our friendly, humorous efficient hostess was all ready to welcome us into her home. Each morning, we were treated to her yummy cooked breakfast, laid out on the table of pretty porcelain china.

To work off all the calories, we took a walk in the garden with Misty and our hosts. There’s a tree outside where Janet gets the juicy sweet grapefruit for our morning meal.

The main house is beautifully furnished, with lovely colours giving it a very cozy feel. The rooms that were undergoing renovation looked spacious and inviting. Great taste in furnishings - homely and a delight for the eyes.

On entering her living room, you are immediately greeted with a wonderful view of the patio and garden. Misty, the grand "lady" white retriever, dignified and probably used to having countless of visitors falling in love with her is a bonus addition to the stay. Even the ducks in the garden made us smile….coming from the hustle and bustle of Singapore, this was a pleasant change. A very restful and relaxing stay in this beautiful retreat. It's a wonderful place to unwind and relax.

Do take note it's not within walking distance to the shops, so you will have to plan your outings and meals to avoid taking the taxi too often in a day. We sometimes bought the delicious meat pies from the deli or some fried chicken if we didnt feel like going out again in the evening. If I am not mistaken, each trip is around NZ$10-12. Jim would sometimes give us a lift in the morning.

Winter at the Bay of Islands was restful and quiet - we had blue skies every day and the walk to town can be a very pleasant morning affair if you are up to it.

A lovely escape from the hustle and bustle for us.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Torsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
376 reviews
4 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 21 in Paihia
561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 21 in Paihia
243 reviews
3.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
669 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bed of Roses
Bed of Roses
#11 of 21 in Paihia
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £97 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appledore Lodge is a luxury boutique bed and breakfast Lodge on the banks of the Waitangi River. Guests love using the outdoor swimming pool which overlooks the gardens and river and is a fabulous outdoor space for a BBQ or for relaxing. Breakfast is a sociable affair with guests from around the globe exchanging travel tales. We pride ourselves on helping our guests make the most of their time with us and on their forward journeys. The suites are all individually appointed and offer comfort and views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing