We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic - if Appledore was in the UK we would go once a month!”
Review of Appledore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Appledore was the very best placed we stayed during our visit of 5 weeks to NZ. Jim and Janet are the most friendly hosts and make us feel like friends. The accommodate (we had the studie) is amazing - overlooking the river and we were treated to a wonderful array of wild life all whilst supping a glass of wine! On arrival, after long drive, we were offered a glass of wine and then took the opportunity to dip in the pool - heaven and what a view! I recommend everyone to stay at Appledore and spoil you senses.

The only problem we had was finding it ,as Appledore is not in the centre of Phaihia. It is about 10 minutes outside and as we had no directions (our travel agents fault) this proved a bit of a problem. Jim and Janet made us so welcome that we soon forgot.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oliviaisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

Appledore is a beautiful lodge nestled in a peaceful setting with lovely views over the river. Our cottage had floor to ceiling windows which allowed us to take in the wonderful scenery and beautiful light shone in the room all day.
Breakfast provisions were stocked daily and consisted of delicious home made treats which we enjoyed on our sunny deck.
The place was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space for lounging and eating.
The hosts were a delightful English couple who brought the well known British country style to this welcoming property.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiaraPal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I stayed in Riverview room for 3 nights to finish off my 3 weeks campervan trip. The view was stunning with two walls of french window facing Waitangi river. You can literally do bird watching in the morning staying in your bed. The host were very helpful, friendly, and non-intrusive. And I enjoyed the swimming pool in the afternoon, the water stayed warm for quite some time after sunset. This is one of the most beautiful guest houses I've ever stayed. The only downside is that it is quite far away from the town, you better have your own means of transport, otherwise it could be inconvenient and expensive to get to town for meals or activities. But if you have your own transports, I highly recommend this place without reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rami2elka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Wonderful location on the Waitangi River. Nice rooms, good homemade breakfast, very friendly hosts and comfortable clean rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jurgen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledorelodge, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Hi Jurgen,

Thank you for the review on 'Trip Advisor' any positives are gratefully received, we know we all live in a competitive world and if we stand still we go backwards.

Wishing you and your family all the very best for Christmas & the New Year.

Regards,

Janet & Jim Appledore Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed at the Appledore on our first night in NZ. We stayed in the Riverview suite. It truly was a beautiful room with a beautiful view. The people that run the inn are very nice and accomodating. One problem is that the room does get very hot in the afternoon, and there is no Air Conditioning. Opening the windows doesn't help a lot, either. It cooled down nicely for the evening, and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enlil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Beautiful setting by the river, extremely comfortable accommodation - self contained for privacy, with every convenience imaginable! The owners, Janet and Jim, were always available for help, assistance and advice. We had some wonderful viewings of the birds by the river!
Breakfast basket was delivered the previous evening with fresh fruit and yoghurt, cereal, juice, toast and cake.
Hospitality and accommodation highly recommended! Would have no hestitation in staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We came half way round the world from Appledore in North Devon to stay at Appledore Lodge. What a wonderful welcome from Janet and Jim! - they gave us a great introduction to New Zealand hospitality. The accommodation was first class, which made my children feel like royalty. We all felt very much at home, and were able to recover from jet lag after the 26 hr flight and then travelling up from Auckland. It was a wonderful way to start our holiday in NZ.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
3.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
357 reviews
3.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 21 in Paihia
540 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
963 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 21 in Paihia
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £97 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover tranquility and peace to the sound of the Waitangi River gently tumbling over miniature waterfalls and rapids, set in two acres of gently sloping pasture land and only 25 meters from the river bank, you will be spellbound by the views from your pillow and all of our accommodation with 1 kilometer of uninterrupted river frontage views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing