We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, great location”

Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Atherton Tablelands, Qld
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, great location”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom self-contained unit. It was a great place to relax in and prepare a simple meal after a day's sightseeing. The unit was modern, well-equipped and extremely comfortable. Its quiet location at the far end of Paihia is a bonus as we made the mistake of staying at a motel at the other end of town initially where we were subjected to loud music and partying as there was a backpacker bar and accommodation precinct at the rear of the property.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Birds_I_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at this motel for two nights in November. Sherrin our host made us feel welcome on arrival after our long drive from Auckland. The studio unit was ideal for us, spacious and well equipped with everthing you could reasonably need for a short vacation. Kevin was very helpful with details about the area, phone cards etc. The motel is situated within walking distance of central Paihia with an excellent supermarket close by. Because of its location on the edge of town we enjoyed a peaceful stay and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxmeister33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
276 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We reached the motel quite late near to 5 pm after a long drive from Rotorau. Kevin was already expecting us when we arrived and he graciously gave us a free upgrade to a 1 bedroom unit instead of the studio unit for my wife and I and our 2 boys. He told our boys they could borrow Dvds from his office for free which was really great to spend the night with the boys after the tiring drive.

Everything in the motel was sparkling clean. When we checked out Kevin told us he and his wife personally did all the cleaning. No wonder everything was in tip-top condition. The bed was so comfortable till we overslept.

The motel is located at the further end of the road and is quite near the Countdown Supermarket. It is not really far from the town though as we drove there for dinner which took only 2 minutes. Motel rate was also very reasonble comparing with other properties there. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend the night, this is the right place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Paihia has plenty of accommodation to choose from and you need to decide what your requirements are.
We didn't want to stay right in central Paihia, as we had heard it could be hectic by day and noisy at night - but we wanted to be within walking distance of the ferry terminal and restaurants. We didn't need a pool - puts a premium on the rate, and can mean noisy groups. We wanted a self-catering option.
The BOI Gateway ticks all the boxes. It is an easy 15 minutes walk to the centre. It is also very clean, spacious and comfortable. It was very easy to do laundry and Sherrin dried it for me. You can hang washing out. There is a supermarket 100 metres one way, and the beach is 100 metres the other way. It is very well run by its affable and helpful owners, Kevin & Sherrin. If your preferences are anything like ours, the BOI Gateway should suit you very well

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very luxurious room, very spacious and immaculate, with a giant super king bed! Kitchen and bathroom both very modern and well equipped. We had a very comfortable stay, a home away from home. Kevin and Sherrin were very helpful, and filled us in on all the attractions in the area. We will definately come back, see you in summer!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in the upstairs one bedroom unit for 4 nights hosts Kevin and his wife provided excellent service to all our needs though quiet time of the year we enjoyed our stay and though a little way out of Paihia found the walk no problem. We will return.

Room Tip: one bedroom upstairs provides a better view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOIGateway, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thank you for the great review on trip advisor,We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your trip went well,and not too cold for you?. Its people like you that make being in hospitality all worth while, and we hope to see you again on your return visit,Take care
and ,Thank you for the loverly gift.
Regards Kevin &Sherrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Dont get me wrong we enjoyed our night at this motel - it had everything we needed - spacious rooms, self contained and well equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom (although a exhaust fan would have been helpful) and located within walking distance to the supermarket.

The location was (by my girly sense of direction) at the northen end of Paihia, a little removed from the food/tourist strip. We managed to walk for a feed out but I would wonder how someone with little ones would go.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shesalwaysright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOIGateway, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
and we hope the rest of your holiday went well, and hope you return some day to the Bay of Islands in the near future ,As a response to the the exhaust fan, All our units are fitted with bathroom fans that are activated when the lights are switched on. We are sorry you thought it was to far to walk to the town centre,You are the first person to say the ten minute walk was too far.
Regards Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Property: Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Address: 2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay of Islands Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated motel located at the northern entrance to Paihia. 50 meters from a lovely swimming beach. All units self contained and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Islands Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Gateway Hotel Paihia
Bay Of Islands Gateway Motel Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing