We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel, fantastic facilties & service”

Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed in many motels during our time in NZ and this was by far the best.

The service was excellent, snf nothing was ever too much trouble for the hosts, the facilities included free kayak hire, guest spa, free dvd hire, guest bbq all of which we were able to use.

The rooms were excellent, we stayed in 2 different rooms as a result of extending our stay and both were excellent.

Location wise the motel is not quite in the heart of Paihia but only a pleasant 10 minute coasal walk away, but is few mins walk from beach, Woolworths, and 15 mins walk from Waitangi Treaty grounds.

We would not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed in the motel for 3 nights just before Christmas. Our room was very spacious with all the cooking facilities expected in an apartment. The beds were comfortable and the shower excellent.
The motel is located close to the Waitangi grounds and a large supermarket (Woolworths). We had a pleasant 20 minute walk into the main centre of Paihia.
On our departure the owner provided directions for a scenic drive back to Auckland.

I would definitely go back to this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Santa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Stayed for one night in a studio room with queen and a single bed on the ground level. The room was clean and moderately furnished with a decent but not great bed. The bathroom was up a couple of steps which was kind of awkward in the middle of the night.

The staff was very helpful in suggesting a good route to our next destination and a number of excellent activities to do in the following days.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GrantCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We just came back home from our 2 night stay in this motel. We think that it was one of the best accomodation we ever had in our travel across the globe. Very clean and convinient. The owners will do whatever it takes to make your stay the best. I would agree that it is hard to find the better value.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ievayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

I booked this motel for the first 2 nights of our holiday /honeymoon touring the North island. Wow, what a surprise.The website pictures do not do it justice and you could not find better value for the money.Brian and Sonia ( and son) were fantastic hosts and really could not do enough for you. The rooms had everything you could require and were absolutely, spotlessly clean.The motel it self is close to all amenities but in a quiet location across from the beach. Perfect ! Would we stay here again ?Of course. Would we recommend this motel ? Definately.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinhard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
1.6 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Address: 2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £67 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay of Islands Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated motel located at the northern entrance to Paihia. 50 meters from a lovely swimming beach. All units self contained and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Islands Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Gateway Hotel Paihia
Bay Of Islands Gateway Motel Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing