We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel and great service”

Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the start of our NZ driving hotel. The studio room we had was very large and well equiped and very modern and clean. Kevin the owner could not do enough for us ringing up on our behalf to make future arrangements for our accomodation and recommended the fabulos sugar boat restaurant to us! The location Of the motel was good, far enough out of the main drag to be peaceful but close enough for a quick walk into town when required. We would definitely return to stay at this motel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed for 3 nights. The facilities were great. Comfortable bed and a huge shower. All the mod cons except no oven. A/C for the living area/kitchen. A "common" laundry, BBQ and spa were also available. A supermarket was a very short distance up the road and service station next door. Maybe a 15 min walk to the main commercial area of Paihia. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank NemaniN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Extremely clean and well situated motel. Far away enough from the centre of town to be peaceful but near enough to 'nip' into. Super customer service - needs anticipated and nothing too much trouble for the owner. Nice BBQ area and loungers. Great shower and bathroom. Clothes washing facilities and internet availability. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorthandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Basic kitchen facility in our studio unit (has a electric frying pan but I prefer a stove top, not every room the same). Opposite the motel is a supermarket (if I remember correctly, it is Countdown). Though it takes about 15 miniutes to walk to the town center and wharf, we enjoyed walking. They do play a part in protecting the environment by conserving water and energy, recycling etc., so they don't change your towels everyday provided you need to (but they took the trouble to ask). The laundry is opened from 8am to 8pm, so schedule your washing. The hosts were friendly and helpful. If they could provide a stove top and extend the opening hours of the laundry to 10pm, I would rate it excellent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qriousity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

The rooms are huge and really well equipped, the owners are extremely helpful and the motel is just across the road from a supermarket. This is a fantastic motel and very quiet at night as it is just out of the main part of town. The beds are very comfortable and the towels are thick and spotlessly clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great start to our New Zealand trip. We thought the location was good – just a few minutes drive along the road from the main centre of Paihia or about a 15 minute walk along the beach. It was also over the road from a supermarket, which was really handy.

Our ground floor room was spacious, spotless and had a handy little kitchenette for basic food prep. The owner was really friendly and helpful and always fun to chat with. Being just over the road from the beach made it handy for borrowing the hotel’s kayaks and taking them for a spin out to the nearest island, where we had a little beach all to ourselves for the afternoon.

We would happily have stayed here longer. It was peaceful, laid back and comfortable. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The comfort level at this motel is very high, an important consideration for the older traveller. We stayed there for the last 4 nights of our 3+ weeks holiday, and were a little travel weary when we arrived. But a good night's sleep (it's a plus that the motel, being a short way out of town is very quiet) helped us feel much better. Every other aspect of the Gateway was excellent too. We had good beds, the most comfortable sofa for the whole trip, and a safe, easy access shower (we had the access suite). In addition to all that there was Brian - a friendly and super-helpful host. To stay elsewhere on a return trip would be unthinkable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
1.6 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Address: 2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £67 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay of Islands Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated motel located at the northern entrance to Paihia. 50 meters from a lovely swimming beach. All units self contained and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Islands Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Gateway Hotel Paihia
Bay Of Islands Gateway Motel Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing