We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location and Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Our room was towards the rear of the hotel, which meant that it was quiet and private, yet gave us a view of the pool and a glimpse of the beachfront.
The suite was fully equipped with kitchen and laundry - perfect for self-catering, yet close to restaurants and the pier - where much of the local activity is focussed.
It was clean and comfortable - everything was new - or as good as new.
The front desk was friendly and helpful, attending to a couple of minor problems promptly.
There is underground parking, which really helps.



Breakfast at 35 Degrees Restaurant on the Pier looking out over the bay was a great way to start the day - only a 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalambaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

Booked the 3 bedroom Penthouse. Situated right at the front of the complex with fantastic views of the Bay of Islands. Well furnished and equiped as well as spotless and clean to make this a very comfortable stay. Air conditioned except for bedroom 3 that had aircon but this was NOT connected. The bedrooms are upstairs and extremely comfortable and spacious. There was traffic noise being right on the road and no screens on doors or windows. So slept with the aircon on.
Situated just a short walk to the shops, restaurants and tourist offices. Also the pier where the ferry leaves from and all the water activities start.
Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advicetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

Hi ChrisJTourist
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Waterfront Suites. We have finally been able to find the fault on that Aircon in the back bedroom, hopefully it will be rectified in the next couple of weeks. We really appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Sharee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is a good hotel in a good location. However, compared to other similar places we stayed in at similar prices, there are some improvments which can be made. Air conditioning would be great for a start! Plus you can tell that no-one from the hotel has ever tried out their rooms. If they had then they would re-arrange all of the utensils to avoid everything keep having to be moved around all of the time! Finally a smile at reception would not go a miss!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Waterfront Suites. The location is perfect next to the cafes and shops perfect walking distance for the centre of Paihia. I read the reviews and thought the one bedroom apartment might be too small but it was great. It had an open plan layout with a huge sliding door to close of the bedroom area. Out door furniture and bbq next to the pool. All one bedroom apartments are the ground floor and I thought we wouldn't have a view but we cold see the bay clearly, in fact up one morning and saw the Queen Elizabeth anchored offshore. Parking was good although quite steep, I dont think a sports car would be able to get into the car park without scraping the ground. Overall a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seejay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and took reviewers advice to request a room with a view of the Bay of Islands. This required booking a 2 room suite but it was definitely worth it. The view was outstanding, the suite was excellent - 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room area - with lots of amenities - washer and dryer, dishwasher, etc. Free internet connectivity and free parking. Other reviewers have mentioned that the furniture is a bit worn, but this hotel's location is so perfect, the furniture just doesn't matter. There is no better location in Paihia as the hotel is located directly next to a row of restauarants and shops on the Bay and a quick walk to the wharf where you can catch a ferry to the lovely town of Russell.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Arrived at our apartment seemed quite lovely the view was extraordinary. The service was very good but a few things were lacking. The rooms furniture was a little uncomfortable, no wi fi access they do have an internet connection for $10.00 per day. The amount of money paid for this room one would think that this would all be included. Our brother stayed in a much cheaper accommodation & it was included. We had a two bedroom apartment which we shared with friends. Unfortunately we were given the resturant side front apartment which was great from a visual aspect. But the noise from the fans etc in the Thia resturant was really loud. Extremely unsightly & a little smelly during cooking times. Also the road noise was really loud I bought some earplugs. We stayed for a week so needed to wash. No airer only a dryer. Not all clothes can go in the dryer. Nowhere to hang towels in the ensuite baathroom yet want you not to use another towel for environmental reasons. I agree but not quite sure where to hang the towels to dry!!! The pool area is awful. To close to other apartments if I was in one of those apartments I wouldn't be happy. Pool area small & uninviting. The staff really nice & again great location. There are a lot better options look around.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diedre_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed at the Waterfront while on vacation with another couple and were extremely happy! We'd come from some rugged accommodations and didn't have anything lined up in the Bay of Islands when we arrived. At the info booth on the water the staff called The Waterfront on our behalf and we booked their last available apartment, site unseen. We were thrilled with our room! We had an ocean view, a huge deck, full kitchen, washer and dryer and tons of space all for a bargain, end of the month special price. The 2nd bedroom had two beds which we pushed together but this was the case in every two-bedroom place we stayed in New Zealand. The Waterfront is conveniently located in the small town with numerous restaurants just a few feet away. The staff are helpful and we found it to be extremely clean and well-maintained. There's also a grocery store a couple blocks away and the location can't be beat for taking the ferry to Russell.

Be sure to visit Russell and walk around and the quaint, historic town. Beachfront dining is available in both towns and a short hike in Russell provides a stunning view. Also, don't miss a cruise through the bay with Dolphin Cruises. They'll take you throughout the islands, tell you about the history of the region, seek out wildlife in the water (we saw pods of dolphins) and make a brief stop on one of the many gorgeous islands. They'll also take you through the famous hole in the rock if weather permits (it didn't for us) but it's absolutely breathtaking redgardless. Everyone we encountered in the area was friendly and helpful, it's an extremely relaxing place for a true vacation and it's one of the places we want to go back to on a future visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £96 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing