We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor on 6th/7th november 2012. The outlook is lovely, views of the sea and Russell in the distance, and in the centre of Paihia so a couple of minutes walk to bars, restaurants, ferry port etc. Its easy to find on the main road, free underground parking, and the receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The apartment was clean, spacious, well equipped for self catering, and a welcome gift box of fudge which was a lovely and personal touch. The bathroom was small but had everything you needed, including a washing machine and tumble dryer with complimentary soap powder. The apartments are serviced everyday with all tea, coffee, washing up liquid, toiletries etc replenished, and they even left us a clothes horse to use when they saw our washing drying around the apartment. My husband used the pool and towels are provided, a refreshing swim in a wonderful place. The suites are a perfect place to use as a base and explore the area, we did a trip across to Russell, which was a lovely place to see. I would highly recommend the waterfront suites, fantastic value for money and fantastic apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsKnight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always encouraging to read that our guests have fully enjoyed their stay and that all our team has delivered a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

Just returned from a great weekend in the Bay of Islands. We arrived after hours and struggled a bit to get in. Nobody answered the after hours check in number so we were stuck outside for 20 minutes. Eventually got directions to buzz the onsite managers room from the Heritage central res centre. You guys should put this info on the confirmations and on the after hours phone voicemail. Anyway, eventually got the gal to come let us in and she was friendly and helpful.

We had a Three Bedroom which is in another building two doors down. This building has a lift but sounds like the other doesn't. The apartment was awesome! Well decorated and maintained. Furnishings were all good quality. The only downside with the room was that there was no resort manual with instructions/info or even a pen and paper! It had a huge balcony with a beautiful view. Location is excellent too, right by the ferry terminal, plenty of restaurants around and walking distance to the beach along the coast.

All in all, really happy with the place and will return. Five star would have been given if it wasn't for the disrupted check in, but that can easily be fixed. Cheers Waterfront!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BowlsTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

On behalf of The Waterfront Suites Bay of Island I would like to offer you our sincere appologies regarding the after hours check in experience you had. We appreciate your kind feedback and sugestions. Please rest assured we are taking action to avoid this from happening again.

We look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

when we arrived the receptionist was already yelling at the people in front of us. Next we got the same treatment. We bought a voucher for the stay which was two nights, during which nothing was replenished i.e. milk, tea, not evening dishwashing powder and giving that there were four of us in a room. We were supposed to have a late checkout- the time for which we weren't informed of on arrival and had to find out ourself
There was only one tv in the entire 2bdm suite, which was tiny and eye hurting unclear and the unhelpful receptionist did nothing about. Then the wireless internet included in our pack- did not connect from our room!
We were travelling with a baby and needed to use the dryer- which was also not working, her fix was, go use the dryer in the room next door, if that wasn't inconvenient enough the next day we were then made to go to a third room to use the dryer, as room from day 1 now had people staying in there. All in all terrible stay and receptionist did nothing to make up for it let alone go the extra mile! We just had to deal with! Pathetic service for what physically appears to be a good looking hotel- not recommended at all

Room Tip: Best room would be in the hotels located next to the waterfront suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misbah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Misbah S

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. As you can see from all of the very positive reviews, we have established a very high level of guest service and we are very proud of what we have achieved. It concerns us that you feel your experience didn’t reach your expectations, and for that we apologize. In reply to your specific points we would like to respond with the following;

1. After checking our CCTV in reception and speaking with guests who arrived around the same time, there was no record of any staff or guests yelling. We were aware however, that during your check in, you were very disappointed that you had booked a pool view room and had not received a complimentary upgrade to a sea view.

2. The vouchers issued by Grab one clearly state the inclusions for the deal purchased, which included the 12pm check out. As 10am is our normal check out time and you departed at 11.20am we did assume you were aware of this.

3. Reception were not advised of the internet or TV issues until after 9.30am on the day of departure. We would have been more than happy to assist or provide an alternative facility had you contacted us beforehand.

4. From time to time, unfortunately there are mechanical breakdowns, and when the dryer reported a fault we provided an alternative solution. Through your feedback we now see that this did not meet your needs.

5. In the past, all Grab one promotions have been on a “no service” basis, after investigation it shows your booking was loaded with a previous Grab one profile in error. Again we offer our apologies for this oversight.

We continue to believe that guest feedback is vital to improving the service we provide. Your comments have given us the opportunity to review and refine the front desk arrival procedure, so that we can ensure all package inclusions will be reconfirmed on arrival. Thank you for assisting us to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I totally agree with the review below and I also can't speak highly enough about these apartments.

The staff were incredibly nice and we entered our room to find fudge and a handwritten note welcoming us on arrival which was written specifically for our length of stay. There is free secure underground parking. We stayed in room 304 which was on the top floor with no lift however because of reading previous reviews I was aware of this and prepared to haul my luggage up the stairs. The apartments themselves are very spacious, we had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies (1 over looking the pool) and the apartments are very well equipped (detergent sachets/washing up liquid, washing powder - everything was covered) and even had a reasonably priced mini bar. The waterfront suites are bay front and have an amazing view. There is also a beautiful pool in the complex and towels are provided pool side. It is in the center of Paihia with shops, restaurants and the Russel ferry stop surrounding it. The wharf was a 2 minute walk and the strip of shops were even closer.

We went on a dolphin day cruise and returned to our car parked in the car park to find it had been washed!!

They are great value for money. They definitely made our stay special and I would love to stay here again! Thanks to Steve for being a great member of staff and making us feel at home.

Room Tip: Rooms 303 and 304 (2 bedroom suites) are up 2 flights of stairs so if carrying your luggage is going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talulah32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Talulah,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I can't speak highly enough about these apartments. The staff were incredibly nice even providing free fudge on arrival, which was delicious! They also left us a personalized note wishing us a pleasant stay. There is free secure underground parking. The apartments themselves are very spacious and very well equipped (detergent sachets/washing up liquid) and even had a reasonably priced mini bar.

The waterfront suites are bay front and have an amazing view. There is also a beautiful pool in the complex. It is in the center of Paihia with shops, restaurants and the Russel ferry stop surrounding it. They are great value for money. They definitely made our stay special and I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Hi Ennis,

Thank you for the great feedback. We hope you can make it again.

Warm Regards

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We have just had a two night stay at Waterfront apartments Paihia in an absolutely lovely property gosh couldnt have wished for anything more only comment I could make negatively was no remote for tv in bedroom. Very minor as everything else was perfect all apartments appear to have a view to ocean. They had a special on for two nights for 4 people so my husband and I and two friends had the two bedroom apartment. Keep up the good work just lovely cant go past this property very classy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Accommodation and staff are excellent, very clean and modern, well situated in a beautiful little villiage over looking the Bay central to all with plenty of little shops and Restaurants well worth the stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chapmanwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Hi Wkholidays,

Thank you for your review. We hope to meet you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £98 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing