We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Fantastic location! Within walking distance to everything in Paihia and 2minutes to the info centre and ferry terminal for tours and ferries to Russell.
We also walked to Waitangi from here.
Lovely pool in the central courtyard.
The suite was huge and it was great to be able to do a mix of self catering (we used the gas BBQ provided) and also be so close to lots of lovely restaurants.
Free underground parking was very convenient.
We purchased a £15 wifi pass which unfortunately didn't work. We called the support number provided but got no answer. A shame that no complimentary wifi is offered. We'll be asking for a refund on the wifi we purchased.
Otherwise we had a fantastic stay and would stay here again if returning to the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellywoodGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review - I am pleased to know you enjoyed your time here and I apologize for the inconvenience with the WiFi. We are currently looking at different options so we can provide free WiFi to our guests.

Kind regards,

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a great little apartment hotel. We have stayed in a ground floor sea facing room and a second floor sea facing room. We have stayed in the summer and the winter. Both are completely self contained and are equipped with all you need for a relaxing break. Although the hotel has a number of different rooms we have only stayed in the two above so cannot offer opinion on the others. The apartments have a complete kitchen, well-defined dining area and living area. They come with everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The hotel also has a swimming pool. The air-conditioning is effective and quiet. Once the doors to the outside are closed the rooms are quite soundproofed. We particularly like the views from the balcony. It is superb. The balcony itself is supplied with a large table and ‘outdoor’ chairs and is all in all a very nice way to spend an evening gazing out at across the bay. The apartments have a basement garage and are located a very short stroll from the town. But lets face it Pihia is a small place so that would not be hard. For New Zealand hotels these apartments are on the slightly higher end of the price range., certainly not as high as some in this neighbourhood. Once tried it is hard to go anywhere else for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are great
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi,

It is always a great pleasure to know that our guests find it hard to try any other place once they have experienced our hospitality. Thank you very much!

Please let me know next time you plan to visit - I certainly look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I recently overnighted here, but could easily have stayed a few more days. Private, clean, spacious , well laid out apartments right opposite the beach, and beside the cafes and restaurants of Paihia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landersonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Ian,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We chose this place because of all the wonderful reviews. When making the booking, the service was very friendly and efficient. Upon arrival we were greeting bey a very chatty informative person, and when we checked in to our room, we were blown away with just how spacious and luxurious they were for the money. Great peep of the sea, very comfortable and very impressed. Truly like a home away from home. Also great location, right on the door step of the township, and all within walking distance. Would have no hesitation in recommending this place, and stay here again. Even considered buying one of them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WazzaWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Wazza,

Thank you for your review. We certainly appreciate your feedback, we are always looking at updating our procedures to make our guests' stays a memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Centrally located on Marsden Road - just off the main strip and opposite the beach it is in the heart of everything with lovely pool, atmosphere is great and facilities and accomodation is lovely! Definitley would stay again! Perfect on NYE as fireworks are right ahead of the accomodation!!!

Room Tip: I would choose the one with its own deck/balcony (at the back facing pool or 2nd floor or 3rd floor...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LowrieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Lowrie,

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the fireworks!

Kind regards,

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This was a great apartment. Location, clean, design, service all 10 out of 10. Had a very nice time. Would return to the Waterfront Suites any time and would be happy to recommend to any one visiting Paihia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Laura,

Thank your for your contribution. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us!

Kind regards,

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here at the end of October 2012. We brought a grabone deal for $299 for 2 nights for a pool side room. When we called to book, we couldnt book a pool side room as none were available even if we changed our dates, so we had to pay $100 for the upgrade to oceanview. When we got there the place was pretty empty and i asked the receptionist why we had to upgrade and she said the poolside rooms were having maintenance. I said why would they have promotion for rooms not available and her response was "we have to run a business" in a rude tone. Part of the reason we booked this accommodation was for the heated pool, which was bone cold, i took this up with reception, to which i was told it was heated and set to 27 degrees, again in a rude tone. At most the pool would have been 6 degrees. So there was no swimming for our baby. The room was beautiful and the location was great, we really enjoyed our stay in Paihia, apart from the service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £96 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing