We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite NZ Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite NZ Hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Waterfront Suites and wish we could have stayed longer. The suite was well appointed and spotless, the staff friendly and helpful. The four of us (two adults, 10 and 13 year old children), had plenty of room in this two bedroom, two bath suite with kitchen, dining area, and living room. A washer and dryer were included - such a bonus for a vacation with kids. Great location and plenty of covered parking. The outdoor swimming pool was chilly - but it is almost winter and the kids enjoyed trying it out. We didn't pay extra for the view and most likely were given what was considered the worst room - the back windows were very close to a private home - but it didn't dampen our enthusiasm. Our two complaints were relatively minor - we were unable to use the purchased internet in the room (so they didn't charge us) and we needed to use portable heaters provided as it was rather chilly. Nonetheless, we have traveled quite a bit in NZ and this was our favorite hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Ellen,

Than you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear we are your favourite hotel in New Zealand.

We look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    113
    31
    4
    7
See reviews for
145
185
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kariong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We drove past these apartments and thought 'this looks good'. We got a terrific rate on a two bedroom apartment which was absolutely superb. We were so impressed we immediately booked a second night. What a location. Overlooking the water with restaurants next door. The girl on reception was wonderful, so friendly and accommodating. When in Pahia you can't go wrong with these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Stuart,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at The Waterfront Suites and look forward to welcome you back if you ever return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

nearly new apartments in the midle of town easy access to trips and amazing views. We enjoyed the self catering aspect and relished in grocery shopping and being able to cook for ourselves, The units were fully equipped in the Kitchen and had an added bonus of washer and dryers, very friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back if you ever come back to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights recently in a 2 bedroom suite during the school holidays special. It was a very beautiful apartment over 3 levels - so if you have trouble with stairs this particular suite would not suit. The main floor had a very large open plan living, kitchen (very well equiped) and dining, with two balconies - one overlooking the pool with a peak of a view out over the harbour, the other overlooking the back of businesses with another peak view.

Up another flight of stairs were two bedrooms and a large main bathroom. The master bedroom had double wardrobes, a small ensuite and a balcony overlooking the pool area. The second bedroom with two single beds had a walk in wardrobe.

My family throughly enjoyed having all this space instead of a small hotel room, and the heated hotel pool was well utilised.

The only thing I found a little strange was that the servicing of the suites was in the late afternoon / early evening instead of the morning when most guests were out and about sightseeing. Other than this the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Thank you for a very comfortable stay :)

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear KitkatR,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as we constantly strive to improve our service standards. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back if you ever return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid April 2013. We stayed for 5 nights. We booked over the phone directly with the hotel. The receptionist automatically gave us a good discount for a longer stay. We asked for a room at the front with a view.
Room 101 was on the ground floor and was directly on the road frontage so had a great view over the harbour. Our 2 bedroom unit was spotless and very spacious.
Kitchen had everything we needed and more, as we mostly ate out. Paihia is mostly eateries and tourist shops. We had breakfast several times at the Upper Deck café 20m along the road. They did a great breakfast and were situated one story up from the road and as the name implies you ate on the deck with more wonderful views.
The hotel is the closest to central Paihia, so close our room was beside an Indian restaurant. Some cooking smells did drift and also some noise but April is a quiet time of the year.
Our room was noisy at times from the traffic which was mainly during the day, especially when you sat outside, however the views are what we wanted so a small compromise.
Our room was adjacent to Reception so you could hear the guests talking as they checked in and out. Eventually you learn to ignore this.
Very effective fire alarm which went off at 10.30pm on our last night. There is an alarm directly over the bed with a very loud voice message! We all spent 30 mins out on the side of the road (some in PJ's) but it was mild so no issue .
If we stayed again we would ask for a road frontage suite but on level 2 or 3. We only booked 10 days prior to staying so these were already booked. While noise was a small problem I would think any rooms not on the road would be very quiet. I would say this hotel is the pick of Paihia accommodation. All the tourist information and booking kiosks are within 100m of the hotel.

Room Tip: Road frontage rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfarmer7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Mcfarmer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you were able to enjoy your stay and overcome the noisy neighbors and traffic. We look forward to welcome you back if you ever return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed for three nights in a two bedroom apartment. What a fantastic place to stay. Staff were so friendly & helpful. We were on the third floor (no lift) at the back overlooking the pool. Apartment was huge - rooms had fans - lounge suite, big dining table, full kitchen with everything you need, dishwasher, second bedroom had two single beds (perfect for the kids), bathroom (with toilet) had a washing machine & clothes dryer, main bedroom had king size bed, walk in robe & ensuite with toilet & shower. Everything was extremely clean. We assumed that, being an apartment, it would be serviced every few days but it was serviced daily. Secure car parking under the building. Kids enjoyed the pool. Nice barbeque facilities too. Hotel is in the centre of Paihia so we were able to walk to dinner & it was close to the ferry terminal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Blueysmrs,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and are certainly looking forward to welcome you and your family back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The Waterfront Suites is definitely the place to stay in Paihia. We stayed here for two nights recently and found the apartment very well appointed and comfortable. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind and it rained for the two days we were there however it was still a good stay. I initially wanted a bay view room but am glad there were none available as the weather made it impossible to enjoy the views.

Room Tip: I think you will find all the rooms a great even if you don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear RockyBubbles,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay (regardless of the rain) - we look forward to welcome you back shall you ever return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Property: The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing