We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this complex last Saturday night, my husband had booked the penthouse suite at the front, amazing!!!!!! It was a lovely surprise, fabulous view over the water, a very short walk into town for dinner etc. The apartment was clean, the staff friendly. Secure parking for our car was a must, would recommend the front apartment for a special occasion, didn`t disappoint.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here I would recommend the front apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear joan j,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    113
    31
    4
    7
See reviews for
145
185
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victorian
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was the nicest place we stayed at whilst in NZ! The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated, with little additions like complimentary chocolates and free secure car parking. The apartments were very comfortable, right across from the water and within walking distance to the town centre. We wished we could have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMaker859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear HolidayMaker859,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you if you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our problems started upon arrival. We had travelled from Melbourne for a conference at a nearby property and consequently had a fair bit of luggage. To get into our unit, we were advised by reception that the luggage had to be carried up some stairs, through the swimming pool enclosure with its double set of gates and then into a lift. On reporting to reception, a disinterested employee gave me a set of instructions that I could not at the time follow, and only very reluctantly did she come and show us the way. I later found that it was simpler to go through the underground car park and then up the lift to get to our room and it still puzzles me as to why she did not suggest this initially.

The rooms are average- good views and fairly modern. Very basic amenities. The complex is in Paihia town and there was a lot of late night music/noise from the downtown crowd.

Service at this place is non existant! We complained several times about the internet- they provide this at an extortionist rate! However as a busy professional I cannot do without it but despite several attempts to find out why it would not work for us, and after a number of unhelpful suggestions from reception we gave up! Like many people, we search out properties with free internet and reject places like the Waterfront where they seek to rort the travelling public with excessive internet charges.

At check out we again experienced the same poor service and lack of interest from the front of house staff. I could only justify it by the fact that this town seems to be staffed in large by an itinerant group of locals and foreigners who have issues other than service foremost on their agendas.

Would I return- definitely not!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Drurolnz,

Thank you very much for taking time to provide us with your feedback. It is very important to us as it provides us with the opportunity to further train our staff. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

Rest assured we will continue to work towards providing our guests with an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a free upgrade to a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious for just two people.
There were a few things that let it down like the tumble dryer not working and a shelf in the bathroom not attached properly and we were unable to get an adaptor for our electric toothbrush. It seems that most hotels in New Zealand have ordinary electric sockets in their bathrooms and not safety shaving sockets like in the UK.
On the plus side, the apartments are in a great location on the waterfront, a short stroll to the centre for all the local attractions and restaurants. There is free undercover parking for plenty of cars. The heated towel rails in both bathrooms were an added bonus and useful for drying clothes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Gwyndolen,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we take our guests' feedback very seriously and as an opportunity to further improve our standards and train our staff. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Had an Apartment which had views of the waterfront in Paihia, absolutely beautiful. Close to restaurants, shops and pier. All staff were lovely and very helpful, there was a lift, as we had an elderly couple with us which made it easy for them to get around. We had a 2 bedroom unit very spacious and everything you need. Beds very comfortable and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZillahMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear ZillahMelbourne,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for just one night prior to our Overnight Cruise into the Bay of Islands which departed from just up the road. The apartment was wonderfully appointed with a lovely kitchen and plenty of room to move around. There was a small pool in the courtyard and BBQ's available outside as well. The place was lovely and would happily have an extended stay here. The staff were courteous and very helpful. The whole complex was very clean and has a large underground carpark. My only gripe was that just outside our room there was a palm tree with a spotlight on it for some reason which I thought would turn off later that night, but stayed on until sunrise, and it shone right into our apartment. We tried to slide the large sliding door (great idea by the way) to cut off our room from the light, but we were just too tired to move all our bags, so just put up with it. But don't let that put you off. This is really a 5 star place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for your feedback, it is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

One of the most beautiful properties. The balcony faces the bay of islands. Very peaceful and serenic. We were 5 of us, 2 couples and 1 adult. They had provided us with an roll over bed, which was very comfortable too. The apartment was well provided with a microwave, fridge, electric gas, coffee maker, washing machine and a dryer. Well spaced out. The waitangi grounds and the wharf are walking distance from the property. The restaurants are just a 2 min walk from the property. All in all it was one of the most pleasant stays in New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneh2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Sneh2683,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you ever visit the Bay of Islands again.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Property: The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing