We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We arrived after the front desk had closed and the woman staffing the desk was extremely gracious about our tardy arrive. She was very friendly. The suite was spacious and updated. The washer and dryer didn't perform that well, but we weren't expecting to have the use of a washer and dryer to begin with, so…..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    106
    29
    4
    7
See reviews for
143
172
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a two bed room with two queen sized beds, two bath suite, on the second floor located above the pool, looking directly out at the water front. The doors to the balcony all swung open to allow us to enjoy fresh breezes and the view of the water front. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had washer and dryer, hair dryers, iron and ironing board which we used to get ready for a wedding. Nearby are two good Thai restaurants, and across the street are two good bars located out on piers over the water. Just down the street you can access the ferry to Russell and other tours. Our room was a little pricey, but 5 people slept comfortably, our youngest on the sofa. We did not use the kitchen which was well equipped. The kids used the wifi but I can't recall if it was free or low cost. There is ample free, gated parking under the hotel.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed room 208 which was accessed off a private elevator serving just two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear cabojim,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you visit the Bay of Islands again.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We chose this property to be centrally based to visit all Bay of Islands attractions. We were in a 2 bedroom executive apartment which was very spacious (the 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms were located upstairs above the lounge/kitchen and dining room.
Beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchen was well fitted out with everything you would need. Even a washer and dryer.
We were there over the Auckland Anniversary long weekend. My only negative feedback would be that on the first two days housekeeping came very late (5pm) which coincided when we got back from day trips. Future calls to the desk did get our room serviced while we were out.
All in all a very well priced location - would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a premium apartment as you will have full views over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Roberta G,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you ever return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

While the location may be great... take notice of all the negative customer service reports from other tripadvisor reviewers. Hotel policy states that 3 days notice must be given if you wish to amend your stay... I called to shorten our stay by one day at the end of our holiday from 5 nights to 4 ( I called at 9am on the Saturday before we were to book in the following Tuesday) I was told that I did not give enough notice and we would be charged for our full stay even though we would not be there for the final night. Considering that we had booked 5 weeks prior....I thought we would have gotten a room with a view of the ocean....this was not the case and when I requested a room change I was told they were fully booked. Our room also had no lift access so we had to struggle up the stairs with a toddler, stroller and our bags!

We have been told that if management can sell our room for the night we are not here we will get a refund for that night.....I'M PUTTING MY MONEY ON NO REFUND....even though its a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Raebos,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to know that we were able to provide you and your family with an enjoyable stay and a positive outcome after the initial misunderstanding.

We have taken your feedback into consideration and will soon be making amendments to the different room categories we offer. We will ensure that room descriptions are specific in regards to location and sea views to avoid disappointing our guests.

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite at the front of the property with the most superb views over the bay. The vista and the location are what made this such a terrific place to stay. You are right in the heart of Paihia, with restaurants, shops and the ferry terminal (taking you to all the spots around the Bay of Islands) right at your doorstep. Paihia is a great place to base yourself to explore Northland.

The suite was a generous size with the kitchen, laundry, dining and lounge areas downstairs. The kitchen was great for apartment style accommodation and was well equipped with nice crockery, utensils, etc. Upstairs there were 3 large bedrooms, bathroom and ensuite. There were balconies both upstairs and downstairs. Great to have undercover parking at no extra cost. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Pool was ok but quite small and not particularly inviting. Wifi was at extra cost. Suites were fresh and clean and serviced daily.

Would definitely recommend the Waterfront Suites.

Room Tip: If you can manage to get a suite at the front with a view, it's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyWoodpecker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear WoodyWoodpecker25,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you ever return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights in these suites, they are comfortable and reasonably well equipped with cooking facilities, hob, oven and microwave plus dishwasher, washing machine and dryer (useful if you are in an extended trip and need to catch up on your laundry). There is good secure underground car parking and the location is excellent for both the restaurant and the pier where trips and activities start - no more than 3/4 minutes from anywhere. Internet is an issue and you need to buy a card, the only free internet in Paihia is at the library - you'll find it by the crowds outside connecting to the internet, you can only do this outside not inside, consequently it's very, very slow but free!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Alfie B,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that the internet situation is disappointing. I am pleased to let you know that we are in the process of installing a new internet system that will enable us to provide reliable and cost effective internet for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Fantastic location. Very large, well decorated and appointed suites. large bedroom, bathroom and living areas. All you need to cook and you can also bbq. Great having the pool out front although can get a touch noisy. Great having a washing machine and dryer!

Shower is a little bit of a let down though as we had a shower room rather than a shower so ended up with a very wet bathroom each time we had a shower, an enclosed shower would have been much easier.

Room Tip: Ideally book a room higher up with a view or if you cannot get a view room as far back as possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigurl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Kiwigurl2014,

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Property: The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing