We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton,UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Found the last room in this small complex after refusing to stay in the Copthorne.
We had a two room apartment at the rear but still with a sea view from the balcony. Very well furnished with ensuites in both rooms and full cooking and laundry facilities. Even though full it was quiet and the only time you saw other residents was from the balcony. The rooms are serviced daily and there are very helpful reception staff available 8 till 8.
Located in the centre of Paihia across from Marine Buildings where tours pick up. An ideal situation. Full marks for design, service and situation

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidLBuxton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear DavidLBuxton_UK,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of our hotel. We really appreciate you setting aside some time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards

The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    113
    31
    4
    7
See reviews for
146
186
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hibiscus coast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My partner and I have stayed here twice now. The first visit we missed the sign for Reception because it is down an outdoor corridor which was a little secluded... Mind you we were probably looking out over the water at the stunning view.

The two suites we stayed in are located alongside the pool. A lift from the under ground car park makes it easy to get your bags up. The suites were both exceptionally clean and very welcoming with the wee chocolate gift on the table. Very well appointed apartment with everything you need.

Being so closely located to many restaurants we didn't cook, so only used the kitchen for cups of tea. Our favourite restaurant has to be 'Alongside 35 degrees' YUM!

The bath and shower was great and I particularly liked the body lotion - smells gorgeous and it's effective (From the Eco fresh range - lime?)

We will definitely return to The Waterfront Suites ... The ladies on reception are friendly and helpful - a real credit to the Heritage. Well done ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Kim B,

Thank you for taking the time to write an great review of your stay with us. Having feedback like this is really invaluable to the Team, as it makes it all worthwhile. We are so glad you had a great time, please let us know if we can ever assist you in the future.

Warm Regards

The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked a one bedroom apartment here for two nights. On arrival we were told that we were on the top (3rd )floor and there was no lift to this floor. We expressed our disappointment at this , due to the fact that we were seniors and my husband had arthritis. We were informed the place was fully booked so we had no option but to accept this. After hauling our luggage from the basement car park through the reception area, past the pool and up 3 flights of stairs, we arrived at our apartment somewhat exhausted. We discovered we had been given an 2 bedroomed apartment instead of that booked. This made no impression, as we only needed one bedroom. Had we been allocated this as our booking confirmed, we may have been on a lower floor, but there was no point complaining further at the time as the place was full. There was no DVD or CD player as advertised, so we had brought ours CDs unnecessarily. The ironing board provided had a cover that had seen 'better days' and was virtually useless. The chairs and sofa were of poor quality and extremely uncomfortable. The wireless internet was expensive and could only be accessed from the living room, and then it kept dropping out.
We are quite well travelled and have stayed in many apartments around the world and this is the first not to have a jug of cold water in the fridge on arrival and no eggcups. (Does no one eat soft boiled eggs for breakfast?)
There was no basic information about the area left for visitors in the room.
All this and to 'cap it all' not a breakfast tea bag in sight! I went to reception to ask if we could please have some, only to be told that the suppliers had not delivered any!!!!!! Could a staff member not have gone to the little supermarket, just round the corner to buy some? What, we asked, would have been the case, if the toilet rolls had not been delivered. We did suggest that we would buy some and give the bill to the hotel and were told 'You can try!'
Oh I must mention the two chocolates left on the table when we arrived. Some great consolation! (peanut allergy)
We had booked this weekend, with a view to checking the hotel and staying longer on a trip we intend to make in March. Will not be returning here.
On leaving we expressed our disappointment and said we would be writing to management.
We have done so and the usual standard apologies were given and we were offered a free night when we return in March - as this will not be happening we will not be taking up the offer.
As we pointed out this does not really compensate for a disappointing weekend.

Room Tip: Do not get a room which does not have lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlegopher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Littlegopher1

Thank you for your time on the phone yesterday, we appreciated having the opportunity to discuss the concerns you highlighted about your stay.

It is pleasing that were have been able to address this to your satisfaction and as discussed we do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to a Heritage property in the future.

Kind regards,

Operations Manager HBC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Waterfront Suites are world class self catering apartments. We had an oceanfront 3 bedroom apartment which was superb value for money and a magnificent location.

Eveything in these apartments are as you'd expect from luxury self catering accommodation and the SMEG appliances are a nice touch.

The upstairs/downstairs configuration of our apartment was great as it meant that guests who want to sleep whilst the entertainment area is being used are not disturbed.

The ONLY downside of this property is road noise. It was extremely warm while we were visting so we had all the doors and windows open and the road traffic is rather noisy. But given all the plusses, this is a minor issue and asomething you need to be aware of when booking roadfront accommodation.

Staff were frienly and accommoddating and we had a fabolous stay.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the property would be quiter but you'd miss out on the 180 degree ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudiHefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear RudiHefer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us. Having feedback like this is really great for the Team, as it makes it all worthwhile. We are so glad you had a great time & look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Warm Regards

The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having travelled all over NZ and stayed in all kinds of accommodation where we received warmth and hospitality, it was a bit of a shock to arrive after a long road journey at The Waterfront Suites in Paihia. Two women sat at reception, offered no warm greeting and basically just told us to get on with finding our accomodation there ourselves. No-one showed us how anything worked and it was really just a very pricey motel at NZ$305 per night. Not really good old New Zealand hospitality. They belong to the upmarket Heritage Group who should know how badly managed this accomodation is.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roro124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Roro124,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry to know our service standards did not meet your expectations. We take our guests feedback very seriously and as an opportunity to further train our staff. Please rest assured we have taken every step to correct this issue and ensure we provide our guests with a memorable experience.

Once again, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the initial contact made with this venue, customer service was of a high standard. Upon arrival our suite was ready and even better than we had hoped for. Complete with fresh milk in the fridge, room infuser (subtle) and up to date info on things to do and locations/prices etc. Ana, the Manager was clearly experienced at making her guests feel at home and made sure we had all the appropriate local information and even booked me in for a relaxing massage at a local spa retreat. VERY reasonable and just around the corner! The 2 Bdrm suite we had was amazing and had both shower and bath and good size lounge area with fully functional kitchen (even dishwasher - yay!) We will most definitely stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Although booking online has it's merits..email the venue directly ask for Ana (Manager) and spea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Coral M,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The location is perfect, the staff outstanding but the property is flawed from the get go. Someone who didn't pass architecture school designed the building and if you are traveling "heavy" meaning more that 2 people and some bags, you'll have to carry them to the 3rd floor yourself. The lifts go to the 3rd floor but don't access all of the rooms there.

That being said I heartily recommend this place, just don't reserve 304! Ana and her staff were incredibly helpful, fully on point with suggestions of what to do, when to do it, where to eat as well as where NOT to eat. That kind of candor is incredibly valuable when thou are popping in for two nights and don't know the lay of the land.

Details: the rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable including a full kitchen, washer and dryer. We could easily have spent a week here and been no worse for the wear.

When coming to Paihia, make sure to consider this property!

Room Tip: If you need lift access be sure to reserve a room that has it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear RockridgeC,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back if you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Property: The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing