We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a lovely apartment. It is well designed so most of the rooms have a view of the sea. Stay was marred by some people swimming in the pool at midnight ( but we now know the pool was heated.) something to. Think about when booking the room is the stairs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Steve, thank you for your review of our property. The pool hours are daylight hours only. We are very lucky that majority of our guests do help us by sticking to this policy. Unfortunately in this instance, this was not the case and the guests swimming after hours were asked to vacate the pool as soon as our on- site staff heard them. We hope you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand and we hope to welcome you back soon. The Waterfront Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I wasn't going to write a review on this property because it was satisfactory but did have some issues but did meet our needs. But then I read the review from Essex/Richard and had to write. Our room (109) was so cold on our arrival, and the heater did not work. The girls at the front desk worked very hard to resolve the problem. After calling a few people, they let us know that the service person would come the next day to fix it and gave us a portable heater for the night.

The next day we were told that the heating unit was broken and would take a number of days to get the parts to fix. Again the staff were great and offered us a different room, but when we checked it out it did not have a tub which we wanted. So they got us another heater for the bedroom and the rest of our stay was fine.

Now to add to EssexRichards review. We were also told that these units are owned by individuals and they decide if they want to put in heater/air conditioner units. Many do not have them, so ask if you are staying to ensure yours does have these features if important to you. We were told that the owners have bought these units for revenue so technically are not time shares as they do not use them, but each one is different. They did tell us that in summer the heaters are exchanged for fans, so it is obviously could be a problem for some.

Room Tip: Room 109 was beside the pool so would be nice if you enjoy sitting by the pool. But could be noisy i...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mika98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Mika98, thank you for taking the time to post a review. Unfortunately your heat pump had stopped working that day, and we are currently resolving the issue. Any rooms that don’t have the heat pumps installed in them are heated by electric and oil heaters, so are nice and warm. We apologise for the inconvenience of the heat pump not working at the beginning of your stay and are glad the staff resolved the situation. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand. Thank you, The Waterfront Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Suites are 5 Minutes walk from town centre. These are privately owned timeshares with different facilities in each. Ours (101) had no air conditioning.

There are full laundry facilities in every room. We liked having detailed instructions for all appliances – very useful as some were different to the UK. Dishwasher and washing machine tablets were provided.

The swimming pool is so small as to be almost useless.

There is no safe in the room but they do offer to let you use the safe in Reception - but it is not open 24 hours a day.

There is absolutely no free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: a room on the first or second floors would give a view of the bay
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your feed- back following your stay in February.

As it has now been four months since you stay, things may now be not quite as you remember.
The property is not a time-share property.

Suite 101 is one of our Two Bedroom Premium Sea view Suites and has a three air conditioning units. The décor and facilities within this room is consistent to other Two Bedroom Premium Suites in the property. We currently provide complimentary 100mg per day internet access to all guests.

We confirm our reception is not open 24 hours as we market ourselves as self contained apartments not as a Hotel . We are sorry you felt the lap pool at the property was too small.

Once again thank you for taking time to place your on-line feedback .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I would return! That says it all - we had a three bedroom unit which was very well appointed, three couple stayed and enjoyed a home cooked meal in the well-equipped kitchen with all mod-cons. V helpful staff - in fact excellent service from both people who looked after us. Wonderful views - saw dolphins leaping as I sat on the verandah. Plenty to do and see locally too.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear KiwigirlNZ, thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's good to hear you made the most of the views by doing some dolphin watching! We hope to welcome you back again soon. The Waterfront Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here many times and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Paihia; great apartments in the centre of town with great views. Lovely kitchen appliances, real milk waiting in fridge and plunger coffee. Dishwasher, washing machine and drier in all apartments and underfloor tile heating in bathrooms. Lap pool with kiddies' pool on the end. Balconies on all second and third floor apartments.

Within a minutes walk of the ferry to Russell, the town centre and most restaurants.

Ask for one with aircon in all rooms (some don't have it in the second bedroom) and note that third floor apartments have stair access from level 2 to 3.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeneye11111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jeneye11111111111, thank you for your feedback from your lastest stay. We are so glad you have enjoyed staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! The Waterfront Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this really great property. The location was so central with the bedrooms upstairs and the lounge and kitchen downstairs. The standard of the property was very good and our receptionist was so helpful with really good local knowledge even though she had only been in the job 3 weeks. We had a front apartment and there was some noise at night from surrounding apartments but the view over the waterfront more than compensated for this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Paul, thank you for your feedback. It is so useful in making sure we are continually improving. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the Bay of Islands, and the rest of New Zealand! Thank you from The Waterfront Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Escaping Christchurch for a three day adventure we booked a one bedroom ground floor unit. Arriving after the office had closed was not a problem. Intercom for assistance from the garage entrance. Checked in with a warm welcome from the receptionist who gave us tips on where to eat.
We loved the place. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Wifi good and free which is always a nice bonus. My husband swam daily in the pool.
The location is great for catching the ferry to Russell. We enjoyed sunny breakfasts and the papers each morning at the cafe on the wharf across the road from Waterfront Suites. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarebelleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Clare, thank you for your positive feedback in your review. It's great that you managed to take full advantage of our location and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Waterfront Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £96 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing