We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at these excellently located apartments. Our room was a two bedroom deluxe suite. It had a great size lounge and kitchen area which was exceptionally well appointed and equipped. The standard of comfort in both the living areas and bedrooms were of a very high standard and all of the rooms were generously sized. It is in a great location, right on the waterfront, a 5 minute walk to the main quay and about the same to most of the shops and restaurants. Service from reception was just exceptional, the manager and his assistant could not do enough for you. We had a problem with the air conditioning that couldn't be resolved immediately, it wouldn't heat up the rooms and it was New Zealand's winter. The manager responded without delay, providing heaters and when he saw us in a restaurant the next day he made the effort to come over and update us. Needless to say as soon as we returned to our room after a morning trip it was all resolved. The swimming pool was well heated and we managed to use it despite it being winter! All in all this property was well priced for what you get and a great place to stay. One night we had a take away which we ate in the room's dining area and another night we ate out at one of the local restaurants about a 5 minute walk away. I would highly recommend these apartments to anyone wishing to visit the Bay of Islands, Paihia is lovely and a great base to visit the local area, including Russell which is a short ferry ride away from either the quay if you're on foot or from a ferry port about a 7 minute drive away if youre visiting by car.

Room Tip: Go and visit the local falls, its only a short drive away, no more than 10 minutes and a lovely walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Have nothing other than positive things to say about my stay here. Our appartement was absolutely stunning and the view was amazing.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Lot's of options for dinner/lunch nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear anna r,

Thank you for your very informative review, looking at the pictures you took during your stay, it appears you stayed in one of our 3 bedroom premium rooms. They come with the most amazing views of the ocean, and you are correct once again, there are a plethora of dinner options available.

On behalf of the team at the Waterfront Suites, thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to welcome you back to Paihia again in the future.

Kind regards,
Erlo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely staff, excellent presentation. Fully equipped to eat in or out. Location was fantastic, take your togs there is a heated pool. The apartment was warm and had a heat pump, heated floors in the bathroom, secure parking. The locals were helpful. Minutes from everything. Make sure you try Sauces for a pizza. Try the decadent choc dessert at 35 degrees south. Take the ferry to Russell .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Debbie R,

Thank you so much for your detailed review! You have highlighted some wonderful features of our hotel as well as some fantastic local attractions, and I must admit, I am a big fan of the pizzas at Sauce!

Debbie R, thank you for staying at our property, I hope you choose us again in the future!

Kind regards
Erlo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here with my family, we got two rooms right up the front so our balcony was over looking the ocean. Everything looked clean and new in the apartment, it was a nice place to come back to when we had been out all day. Staff were friendly and the pool and spa were kept at a good temperature which was nice and refreshing over summer time. Would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank N_jag_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear N_jag_Z,

Thank you for reviewing our property. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay. Our swimming pool is very popular in both winter and summer months, so it is great to read that you enjoyed it.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at our property and and taking the time to write this review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back some day.

Kind regards,
Erlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I decided to stay that The Waterfront Suites following a reccommendation and am glad i did. As a regular business traveller I am in Northland every few weeks for a whole week so require somewhere I can come back to after a busy day of visiting clients and just relax. The waterfront suites certainly offers this, being more of an appartment feel than a hotel feel it allowed me to go down the road to the Countdown supermarket and purchase things like breakfast cereal or dinner meals with the satisfaction that the kitchen in the room is fully stocked.

The only downside to this place is when it rains there is little to no cover getting to most rooms. The entrance gate was also broken but no sign up to say this.

The underground parking is a bonus as its all secure. The rooms are tastfully presented and the aircon is great but there was none in the room. TV's had about 6 channels on it but were missing key TV channels such as PRIMe and TV4. I also couldnt plug in my USB to watch movies so connecttivity could be improved slightly.

The wifi is affordable and the noise is to a minimum. I will deffinately be returning

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clayt0n_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Clayt0n_NZ,

Thank you for staying at our property. We thoroughly enjoyed having you.

As you mentioned in your review, some of the rooms are located externally, however, we are more than happy to offer umbrellas to help keep our guests dry.

Clayt0n_NZ, we hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Paihia!

Kind regards,
Erlo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

what a appartment ! great friends very well located decently made, kitchen with full modern amenities, 2 bed rooms nicely lit well control temperatures
swimming pool below very refreshing as well as water in the front of appartments ...

Room Tip: Every Appartment is best Just go for it as per your budgets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narendrermahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear narendrermahajan,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Our team thrives on welcoming people to the Bay of Islands, so it is wonderful to know that you felt like you were at home. Our swimming pool is a very popular amenity and for good reasons. It is heated to a comfortably 28 degrees Celsius for your enjoyment.

narendrermahajan, should you every return to the Bay of Islands, we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Erlo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in the heart of paihia which is walking distance to the main street then this is the place. The waterfront suites is a modern, spacious, clean and well furnished suites that just feels like home. We stayed in 303 during winter and the 3 heat pumps were more then enough to keep us cozy in our suite. The view of the ocean felt something out of a movie scene. The suite was simply impeccable. Would highly recommend staying here

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Solidsaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Solidsaks,

Thank you very much for your review. From a managers perspective, it is wonderful to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It is also great to see that you enjoyed the restaurants and attractions nearby. We are proud of the views from our hotel and reading your review makes us feel grateful to be able to share it with people from near and far.

Solidsaks, I hope we can welcome you back to the Bay of Islands one day.

Until then, We wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Erlo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £125 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing