We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent six weeks in New Zealand in February and this set the standard for our holiday, Facilities are brilliant with a bbq on the balcony, hot tub in our room, lovely pool and more importantly fantastic hosts, we stayed in two rooms because of someone else having a pre arranged booking and both the rooms were fantastic with ipod docks being a nice touch. The rooms were absolutely 5 star with the most amazing views across the bay, the location is brilliant with it only being a short walk to the nightlife and visitor attractions, our hosts booked our tours etc with us and recommended some fantastic things to see and do. I could go on all day about how fantastic the apartments are but just want to thank Mark and Viv for a fantastic time, we even got engaged on Russell and when we came back and shared our news Mark and Viv invited us over for a couple of drinks for the evening. Thank you so much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJSurfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

A little ott for us as just a couple booking a 2 bedroom apartment but the day we arrived in Paihia it was pouring rain so choose The Pioneer just for road appeal initlally- we were not disappointed- really spacious apartments- eveything you would need family or two couples/friends traveling together- even an outdoor tub- great cupboard of dvd's to choose from if you didn't want to venture outside your door! Thank you for a great stay (backdated to original stay April 2009 but have been since!)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBroadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We walked into this apartment off the street, when the proprietor gave us a fantastic rate on one of the rear units. The unit didn't have a direct view of the bay, as it overlooked it's own courtyard and the pool and spa, but it didn't need it. It was spacious, spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped, quiet and wonderful to stay in. The host couldn't do enough for us and was extremely helpful and friendly. We had two nights here, and the kids loved the pool and spa, even though it was pretty cold (mid October). It was the sort of place you could come back to each afternoon, take a nap, sit round, play cards and just chill out, you actually wanted to spend time here. One of the best places we stayed in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Arriving in Paihai without booking anything we called in here to see if there were any vacancies and we were shown to a stunning apartment by Viv who was a perfect host. Well situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions and restaurants. Only srayed two nights, it would have been easy to stay much longer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerWfrontManager, Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2010

Thank you so much for your comments about our property. We are glad you had a wonderful stay in the Bay of Islands and Paihia. We firmly beleive a little local knowledge can go a long way to making our guests time in the Bay of Islands even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pioneer Waterfront Apartments should you venture this way again. Kind regards Viv and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed here over Christmas 2009 and was very pleased with the choice. The apartment was spacious and well equiped, only lacking a 2nd bathroom. The location is excellent, just a few minutes walk to the ferry terminal and centre of Paihia. Plenty of nearby restaurants and no need to use the car for a week. The resident manager was very helpful, giving excellent advice on how to make the most of our stay.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank JDandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerWfrontManager, Managers at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2010

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we appreciate your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Paihia and the Bay of Islands.
Kind regards

Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Spacious and modern apartment. Good furnishings but you only get a glimpse of the sea. The toilet needs an upgrade (and it smelt a bit). Well stocked kitchen and a good location. Please note that the score is in comparison to 14 other hotels/B&Bs we stayed in during a 3 week trip to NZ, it did not get a 5* as the view was not the best and the standard was not as good as Fairways in Kaikora and the Rees in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The best part of our holiday to New Zealand was Paihia - really is an excellent base for watersports, tours and relaxing. The accommodation was really top-notch and we actually ended up staying longer than we had expected as we had some spare days and decided to do more in Paihia.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulRowleyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: £115 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. A home away from home as all apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 Minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing