We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edelweiss Motel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“very relaxing”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were looking for a no hassles, more budget accomodation but it had to have a spa pool or bath. We found Edelweiss Motel to be clean, comfortable and close to town with a spa bath which was just what wanted. We enjoyed Tito's just around the corner for dinner and felt the rooms were quite big for the price. The only thing I felt could have been better was the television reception but as we weren't in that much it didn't really matter. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the room above the laundry and there was no adjoining rooms - it felt more private and was fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Jules B,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
With regards to the Television reception we are working on that now. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
66
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On arriving our hosts gave us a run down on the area and where we could locate different shops and resturants.They were easy people to talk to and willing to help where possible. The room was the right size for 2 of us and very clean. I will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Helen and Robert,
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

On a spare of the moment I decided to take my family on a weekend trip and after looking online we discovered Edelweiss Motel, It had everything we were looking for, a nice clean and modern room with a spa pool at least.

We booked our room and when we got there, it more than beat our expectations, the room was exactly as the website described, (which these days speaks alot) and our host was warm, friendly and accommodating.

We had a wonderful weekend, and I so recommend this motel

Room Tip: We got a room with a spa tub and found it relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Allen ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, and many thanks for all your kind comments. We are so pleased we lived up to your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed your weekend with us.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahipara
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great location to shops etc and the venue for our event and excellent hosts. Rooms were ideal for the groups needs and we have stayed here before. Service from hosts are awesome can not thank Trish and Jim enough. The backpackers/bar that was a street over had an event on all weekend which was a little noisy at night for the families on the top level. Would stay again though :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level are quieter if there is a big event at any of the bars in King street (the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clubswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Ahipari Swimming Club,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to hosting you for your next club champs.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

host very helpful studio no3 big enough for 2 people just around the corner from the main center still within walking distance a lovely cleaning lady from manchester did not use the pool looked very inviting host very helpful in our future travels in north island very clean excellent shower even so could be thinking about doing the same beth and tony

Room Tip: have enough room to move around without falling over one another space to but cases out oy the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Trish and Jim were perfect hosts. Unit was clean large and quiet. As I was only able to stay one night I did not have the time to have a dip in the inviting pool. I enjoyed the location with a lovely short walk to the beach. I certainly look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

Not quite smack in the middle of town, but within walking distance, this place is pleasant enough although there's little point in a balcony that overlooks a car park and building next door. Rooms are spacious and the nice touch was to have all the towels folded as little works of art. I like the fact that the hot water was full pressure and we were "given" 200 mb of data to play with. It shouldn't be on a quota and that's why they don't get full points...

This is one of those two story set ups without a lift so if you have heavy luggage, you might want to ask for a ground floor room. I also imagine parking would be at a premium if the place was full...

Limited tv - if it's a wet day.

The kitchenette was complete with electric fry pan and hot plates pots etc.

There's a nice Pool area and spa with barbecue although the area, spa and pool ain't big..

I would stay here again and to me, that's the test.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickbruining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.4 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Property: Edelweiss Motel
Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edelweiss Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and free unlimited in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 3.5*. Proud members of Host Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing