We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edelweiss Motel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton East, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Set back a little from the beach but still less than 10 minute walk from city centre. We stayed for 3 nights in an upper story unit with small but well equipped kitchen. The next street along has a few backpacker hostels and each night there was noise until at least midnight but certainly not enough to keep anyone awake. The owners are lovely and quite helpful. The unit was clean and reasonably modern. Only drawback was that there were only 4 analogue and no digital TV channels but guessing this will change when NZ goes digital in 2 weeks. We booked at a discounted rate and value for money was excellent and seemed better than any others in the area.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are much brighter and have a private balcony, also more spacious and worth the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByronvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi Byron H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled to announce we now have
SKY 50+ Channels.
Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon and you can enjoy our selection of channels.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    58
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
66
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

One of the best places to stay in Paihia, offering excellent value for money, With a nice spacious room, plus facilities such as swimming pool, spa etc one is sure to have a relaxing time in the bay of islands. Owners are nice and friendly ensuring their guests are having a beautiful time in the Bay of Islands..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi Jack P,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We really do appreciate them.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .
Please come back and see us again soon for a relaxing break.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Clean and comfortable and a close walk to town
We would definitely recommend it to others - ideal for a weekend away.
This Motel is handy to the local shops and restaurants.
Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ivorminnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Ivorminnis,
Thank you vey much for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Come and enjoy another relaxing weekend with us soon.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Edelweiss Motel was excellent for our Travel Club Group of 35 members.The units were very clean, spacious & comfortable - some even had 2 toilets!! Trish & Jim's hospitality was exceptional they were very friendly & helpful- taking our injured members to the medical centre,chemist etc. The kitchen was restocked every day.This motel is handy to shops & restaurants in Paihia.We definitely recommend them to other travellers.Good value. Didnt get time to use the spa & swimming pools

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi Helen,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
We really did enjoy hosting your group and we were pleased to be able to help your injured people.
It is always nice to know if people felt comfortable and that they had enough space particular with large groups.
We are delighted to know everyone enjoyed themselves and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This motel beats the more glamorous and high profiled motels in value and customer service. You get more for your money with the generously stocked kitchen, large spa bath, comfortable and well set out rooms. I would definitely recommend to others having a weekend away. The only thing I felt could be improved is maybe a few more stations for television viewing and a token packet of shampoo & conditioner would be appreciated.Thank you Edelweiss Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tarei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi Tarei B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We really do appreciate all your kind comments.
With regards to the Television stations this is a work in progress with digital TV arriving in December.
As for the Shampoo & Conditioner I am not sure what happened with that as we normally have all of our units equipped with these. We will certainly be re-checking our units.
We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you felt you had good value for your money.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were looking for a no hassles, more budget accomodation but it had to have a spa pool or bath. We found Edelweiss Motel to be clean, comfortable and close to town with a spa bath which was just what wanted. We enjoyed Tito's just around the corner for dinner and felt the rooms were quite big for the price. The only thing I felt could have been better was the television reception but as we weren't in that much it didn't really matter. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the room above the laundry and there was no adjoining rooms - it felt more private and was fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Jules B,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
With regards to the Television reception we are working on that now. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On arriving our hosts gave us a run down on the area and where we could locate different shops and resturants.They were easy people to talk to and willing to help where possible. The room was the right size for 2 of us and very clean. I will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Helen and Robert,
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.4 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Property: Edelweiss Motel
Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edelweiss Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and free unlimited in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, free car parking and courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 3.5*. Proud members of Host Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing