We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel I've stayed at in forever”
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edelweiss Motel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Clean, tidy, nice facilities, close to beach yet still secluded and not exposed to the road. Spa bath suite recommended for couples. Friendly and helpful managers. Is now the only motel my wife and I (and our kids) will be using in Paihia. Absolutely recommend.

Room Tip: Choose one of the spa bath suites if you're travelling as a couple, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi Mr and Mrs B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and your wonderful feedback.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to hosting you and your children in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Recently in our trip to New Zealand my wife and I decided to take a trip away from the family we were staying with headed towards the Bay of Islands. Having never visited the area we looked ahead beforehand and found an amazing deal at the Edelweiss which seemed to be located perfectly.

When we arrived we we're quickly checked in and escorted to our room. The location was superb, less than 1 minute walk take you directly to the beach front near a few bars and restaurants but you were far enough away not to be bothered by the noise. The room itself was very clean with plenty of space and a good sized bathroom. If this was all the hotel was to have we would have had a bargain but there was much more.

There is a pool which both my wife and I made very good use of with a spa and BBQ available for use if you want with a laundry room which again we made good use of. We were both surprised by the amount of facilities available to us and delighted with the Motel.

Trish and Jim were excellent hosts throughout our stay, we were that thrilled with the area and Motel that we were fortunate enough to be able to book another nights stay with them. We expected to be charged the nightly rate for the additional night but we were charged the same (special promotional) rate we received for the previous nights. We also booked a trip through the Motel after seeing that this is a service they provide, we were again surprised and delighted with the extra discount Trish was able to secure for us on this booking.

Overall we were both delighted with our stay here and would have no hesitation with visiting again. Trish and Jim are excellent hosts and care deeply about their guests experiences of their whole trip.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 and would recommend this for any couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello Mr and Mrs E,
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your stay with us.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took full advantage of our facilities.
We look forward to hosting you both again and also your friends in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Set back a little from the beach but still less than 10 minute walk from city centre. We stayed for 3 nights in an upper story unit with small but well equipped kitchen. The next street along has a few backpacker hostels and each night there was noise until at least midnight but certainly not enough to keep anyone awake. The owners are lovely and quite helpful. The unit was clean and reasonably modern. Only drawback was that there were only 4 analogue and no digital TV channels but guessing this will change when NZ goes digital in 2 weeks. We booked at a discounted rate and value for money was excellent and seemed better than any others in the area.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are much brighter and have a private balcony, also more spacious and worth the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ByronvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi Byron H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled to announce we now have
SKY 50+ Channels.
Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon and you can enjoy our selection of channels.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

One of the best places to stay in Paihia, offering excellent value for money, With a nice spacious room, plus facilities such as swimming pool, spa etc one is sure to have a relaxing time in the bay of islands. Owners are nice and friendly ensuring their guests are having a beautiful time in the Bay of Islands..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi Jack P,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We really do appreciate them.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .
Please come back and see us again soon for a relaxing break.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Clean and comfortable and a close walk to town
We would definitely recommend it to others - ideal for a weekend away.
This Motel is handy to the local shops and restaurants.
Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ivorminnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello Ivorminnis,
Thank you vey much for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Come and enjoy another relaxing weekend with us soon.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Edelweiss Motel was excellent for our Travel Club Group of 35 members.The units were very clean, spacious & comfortable - some even had 2 toilets!! Trish & Jim's hospitality was exceptional they were very friendly & helpful- taking our injured members to the medical centre,chemist etc. The kitchen was restocked every day.This motel is handy to shops & restaurants in Paihia.We definitely recommend them to other travellers.Good value. Didnt get time to use the spa & swimming pools

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Helen,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
We really did enjoy hosting your group and we were pleased to be able to help your injured people.
It is always nice to know if people felt comfortable and that they had enough space particular with large groups.
We are delighted to know everyone enjoyed themselves and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Trish and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This motel beats the more glamorous and high profiled motels in value and customer service. You get more for your money with the generously stocked kitchen, large spa bath, comfortable and well set out rooms. I would definitely recommend to others having a weekend away. The only thing I felt could be improved is maybe a few more stations for television viewing and a token packet of shampoo & conditioner would be appreciated.Thank you Edelweiss Motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tarei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Tarei B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We really do appreciate all your kind comments.
With regards to the Television stations this is a work in progress with digital TV arriving in December.
As for the Shampoo & Conditioner I am not sure what happened with that as we normally have all of our units equipped with these. We will certainly be re-checking our units.
We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you felt you had good value for your money.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Trish and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £45 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edelweiss Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and free unlimited in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, free car parking and courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 3.5*. Proud members of Host Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing