We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular trip”
Review of Salt Air Tours

Salt Air Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$186.24*
and up
Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salt Air's helicopter and fixed wing scenic flights and tours offer you a unique and memorable experience of the Bay of Islands and Northland from the air with spectacular coastline views and island scenery. Our guided tour options and island escapes will also leave you with an appreciation of our beaches, local history, culture and coastal environment that is uniquely Northland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular trip”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stumbled across the helicopter almost by accident as we walked along the beach so we called in the office to find we could take a trip round the bay and land on one of the islands pretty well straight away. What a fantastic view. The pilot told us all about the area and other attractions. Compared to UK prices, this was fantastic value and really set us up for the rest of our holiday. For those who may be nervous about flying in a small helicopter - don't worry! It is well worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks for your great review of our helicopter scenic flight and you found it great value. We hope you had a fantastic trip around New Zealand. Cheers from the Salt Air team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Exceptional scenic experience”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thank you Salt Air for a superb half day fly/drive tour to Cape Reinga and Bay of Islands. Fantastic value. Professional and knowledgeable Pilot (Daniel) and Van driver (Joyce) great company. Stunning and varied scenery. Loved every moment. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GBAL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for such a great review! It's always nice to show other Kiwis our beautiful Far North and wonderful to hear you loved it so much. Daniel and Joyce do an exceptional job and will be chuffed with your review. Cheers from the Salt Air team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to spend half a day!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We took the half day fly / drive tour, it was fantastic! The tour guides were excellent, the scenery beautiful and the time spent sliding down the sand dunes was one of the highlights of our trip. I would do this tour again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It's so nice to hear that you loved the trip, thank you for the review. We hope to see you again next time you are here in NZ. Cheers from the Salt Air team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The half day fly/drive tour offered by Salt Air is undoubtedly the best way to see the Bay of Islands and Cape Reinga! The views from our fixed wing plane were absolutely stunning and our pilot, Daniel, impressed us with his professionalism and superb knowledge of the area. The land portion of the tour was just as interesting, a particular highlight being the enormous white dunes at Te Paki Stream where we took time out to go sand boarding. This tour is excellent value for money. I can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you Salt Air for a fabulous experience!,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Such great feedback, thank you! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Cape Reinga tour and flight so much. Daniel will be pleased with your comments. Cheers from the Salt Air Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breathtaking area, even more impressive by air”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We took the Coastal Discovery half-hour helicopter tour.

We enjoyed incredible views of the islands, particularly the Hole in the Rock; marvelled at the Black Rocks basalt formation; and dreamed of one day owning a retreat on a private island in the Bay.

On the day we took the tour, it was quite windy. The booking staff suggested we went the next day instead as the weather would be better, but it was our last day in Paihia and the pilots were happy to fly - so we went, and we were not disappointed! We were expecting there to be turbulence from the wind but there was very little. Our pilot, Manu, varied the route to suit, and was full of information about what we were seeing. It was an amazing experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it goes to show that the Bay of Islands is still a beautiful place to fly over even when the weather is not perfect. We are so glad you enjoyed your helicopter flight with us. Cheers from the Salt Air team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Tours also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Salt Air Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing