We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best motel in my NZ experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I will never choose other motels when I stay in Paihia. Host and hostess are the most friendly people I have ever met. they gave me lots of useful information. The rooms are very tidy and well furnished. covered parking making sure that there is no guano on the top of you car. Swiss Chalet is located near the town centre, easily access to shops and restaurants. You should not miss it out if you travel to Paihia.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinese021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

We had a lovely couple of nights there, the motel is close to shops and wharf, no need to drive once there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirbaz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The Swiss Chalet is well situated, a short walk from the sea and shops. We stayed for two nights. Our room was a good size and spotlessly clean and we enjoyed having a very pleasant balcony area to sit out for our breakfast. The area seemed very peaceful and we're surprised at comments by another reviewer about traffic noise. Maureen was very helpful in providing advice about trips and things to see. We'd certainly recommend the motel to others.
Alison and Paul

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We stayed here for a few days break near the end of our trip to NZ and were fortunate to be given the corner suite at the rear of the property, together with a large terrace area and sun loungers. It was a real sun trap and a wonderful place to relax after our trips out in the day. There is a guest laundry with outside drying facilities as well as a dryer. The town centre is five minutes away and the ferry the same. A great place and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Fantastic accommodation, spotless, great help booking tours, well appointed rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzie0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Our stay in Paihia was made relaxed and perfect by the wonderful accommodation provided by Maureen and Phil at the Swiss Chalet. Our room was comfortable and spacious and allowed us to feel incredibly safe during the nights we stayed. Our hosts and the staff were very friendly and would do anything to help us out with advice on what sights were a must see to actually booking trips for us. They made our stay stress free and easy which is exactly what we were after.
The Lodge is located only a short walk away from the township and the beach, which was perfect for us.
All in all the Swiss Chalet is an excellent place to say and we would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colbie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This hotel was the biggest disappointment of our two week stay in New Zealand. I am astounded that it gets the rave reviews it does. Although it's true that the proprietors are kind and helpful, and that the hotel is within a short walk of all the shops and restaurants, it's also true that there is near-constant traffic noise and that the sea view is substantially obstructed. Though spacious, our room (especially the closet) stank of mildew and the furniture was old and worn. The prices they charge, especially compared to other accommodation we enjoyed in New Zealand, is criminal. In short, I recommend against booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lux_Row_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the unfortunate occurrence of dampness in the closet. Over the last 2 months Paihia has had 3 severe storms and unfortunately due to a damaged seal dampness has crept into the closet area of one of our units without our knowledge. This problem has been fixed and will not occur again.
We are very proud of our motel reputation and work hard to ensure our guests receive a quality experience and that our rooms are maintained above the 4 star standard (refer to our previous reviews). I have to say that Christmas and New Year period in Paihia is peak time and can be very busy with revellers having a good time. Generally our motel is very quiet and ideal for families and couples alike. We will be continuing our effort to supply our usual excellence in accommodation and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £73 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing