We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing eight days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton
1 review
“A relaxing eight days”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We chose this motel for it's location, and with the time we had, we wanted something a little more upmarket. It is run on a very relaxed, but at the same time efficient basis. We had a small problem, caused by other guests, which was quickly solved and we settled into a gentle time there with good advice on making the most of our time always on offer.

It was a plus for us to have the owners on site, one feels more in touch with life!
Finally it was difficult to leave our temporary "home".

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    86
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
100
168
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Receptionist gave us a wrong information. Room was so messy. Spa was nt in room. It was a public spa n nt hygenic. Rooms were nt sound proff. Ceiling of the room was so old. No paint in room. Paid for 2nights bt left motel in 1night. They didnt even refund

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasminejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As you have written this review about your stay October 2012 (8 months ago) I can not recall you staying with us and I know that we would have tried to make your stay enjoyable. We have never told people that there is a spa in our studio rooms (as owners we run our motel and do not have other reception staff). We do have a lovely private spa pool in the motel complex which is maintained by an expert spa pool maintenance company - I can assure you the spa pool is extremely hygenic.
Our units are a unique "Swiss Chalet" design with tongue and groove wood oil-stained ceilings which are not intended to be painted, the rest of the unit has painted walls etc. I think you may have mistaken our motel for somewhere else.
We and our housekeeping staff take great pride in keeping our rooms spotless as you can see from our other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Swiss Chalet Lodge occupies a position just off the coastal road through Paihia and close to shops and restaurants (a warning to the unwary: restaurants in much of New Zealand close much earlier than they do in Europe).

The owners are extremely welcoming and are helpful with suggestions on how to get the most out of a visit. They will even check out the online weather charts and produce their own (accurate) weather forecasts and advise on when to take trips out into the bay.

The rooms are of a good size but their decoration makes them quite dark. The bathroom and shower are not heated so it's best not to take too much time in there, and the shower controls are quite unusual and take some mastering!

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the owners really friendly and helpful, the location perfect and the accommodation spacious and comfortable. It was good having access to a balcony outside our room (but note it is just down the road to the sea so no sea view). Our bathroom had a "slipper" bath (small bath) with a shower over in which a small person could have a bath or anyone could have a roomy shower! There was access to a washer and dryer for guests which was really helpful. The room was a little musty when it had been shut up during the day but opening doors and windows on return soon made it fresh again. The owners helped book a great boat trip for us - and it is 5 minute stroll to the pier to pick up the boat trip which made the morning boat trip option more attractive! It is a few minutes walk from plenty of eateries.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

If you want a very convenient location just back from the shops and activities at the waterfront, good facilities that are well maintained and hosts that go well out of their way without being intrusive to ensure that you will enjoy every minute and aspect of your stay, this is the place to be! My wife and I stayed here at the end of Feb 2013 and without any doubt thought it was excellent.
We were ending our three and a half week tour of the North Island having visited a number of decent motels and five star hotels but our stay at the Swiss Chalet Motor Lodge was the tops because beyond the location and well-presented accommodation it had the ingredient of exceptionally good hospitality that made our five night stay special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex-Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Fantastic location and rooms very comfortable. Best part was that Maureen and Phil were so helpful and are just thoroughly lovely people. They couldn't do enough to make sure our time in Paihia was extra special. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The motel was much nicer than the photos as I was worried that it would be old fashioned based on the photos, but although it did look like a Swiss chalet it was beautifully painted and maintained and quite charming with lovely flowers. The hosts were nice, the room was very spacious with a queen bed and a single bed, and the kitchen facilities were adequate for a short stay. We opted to not have any cleaning done as we were only there 2 days so didn't tidy up when we went out but when we returned the room had been cleaned anyway and we had lots of new towels. We could park undercover, and it is a short walk to the shops and restaurants and beachfront. Good value, good location, and very comfortable so we were glad we hadn't gone for the more 'glamorous' newer motels in the town as I don't think they would have been any better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faypeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing