We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb motel in Paihia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb motel in Paihia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were two friends staying two nights in this lovely Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and was happy with everything, it wasn't super modern but it had a very nice and homely feel. We had a 'studio plus', which has a queen bed and a single bed, perfect for two friends who wanted separate beds. The bed quality was great and it was quiet at night, we both slept really well. The unit was well appointed with nice wooden furniture and there was a kitchenette equipped with everything one would need to make a full meal (even though we didn't). We used mugs, plates, the hot water kettle and the toaster:) The toilet and bathroom were small but with everything we needed and spotlessly clean like the rest of the studio and with nice quality towels, soap & shampoo. We were given fresh milk for the hot drinks and a nice touch was that there was a plunger coffee jug with a sachet of the right coffee for one jug for each day (in addition to the usual instant coffee sachets, tea and hot chocolate). We bought breakfast each day which was brought to the room in a wooden box in the evening. We thought it was quite a bargain for NZ$ 10 per person, not like a full hotel breakfast but actually quite enough, more than I would have had at home. We sat outside on the balcony (we were on 1st floor) and although there was no great vista, it was still lovely sitting outside in the morning sun! The location of the motel was perfect (except from the lack of a nice view), just off the main street in Paihia with only a couple of minutes walk to the beach, ferries, shops and cafes/restaurants. I first rated this motel very good, but changed my mind to excellent, because we liked it so much. The thing that could have made it even better would have been a really nice sea view and some flowers in the balcony boxes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScandinavianKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We loved having you stay with us and I wanted to let you know that there were no flowers in the boxes because we change them at this time of the year for the Summer flowers. It was lovely to have guests that enjoyed the beautiful Bay of Islands as you did. We would look forward to having you stay with us once again. All the best for Christmas and the New Year, Maureen and Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    85
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
167
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Using the pre-arranged shuttle from Kerikeri Airport we arrived as two jet lagged pensioners from the UK and we could not have asked for a friendlier or more helpful reception from Maureen.
The suite offered was spacious, comfortable and ground-floor.We only had one full day to stay, so asked for advice on what to do. By the time that we fell in to bed a boat trip had been booked and information given about walking to the nearby Waitangi Centre.
The Swiss Chalet is located very close to the centre of Paihia - a few minutes walk to find meals and all facilities.
We wish that we had had more time available to stay and explore the area more; if we ever return we shall certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennGilbertson473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Glenn, Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you stay with us and to also refer some friends to stay, we thank you for that. I am thrilled that you enjoyed it here and maybe next time you will make sure that you stay longer so that you can really relax and enjoy the Bay of Islands. It would be lovely to see you again some day. Have a lovely Christmas and New Year, regards Maureen and Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The owners were very friendly and helpful, as were the staff. We found everything in our room clean and comfortable and have no complaints. A special thanks to Maureen for her friendliness, and Jane as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We took advantage of the winter special and spent 6 nights here in a studio unit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the unit and facilities were great with a nice deck to enjoy the morning sun, the heater and electric blanket being of great benefit in the winter, and of course the location is perfect. Whilst this is an older style motel, we could not fault it. The proprietors were a very warm homely couple, always enquiring as to how our day had been. We would certainly recommend this motel to anyone wishing to spend time in Paihia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a great, comfortable stay we had in the Swiss Chalet during our two night stop in Paihia. I did look at other places in Paihia but glad I chose this place after we drove past some of the other possibilities I’d also looked at!!

Phil was very welcoming when we arrived and showed us into our ground floor unit specifically requested as we knew by this point in our holiday our bags would be heavy and didn’t want to haul them up/down stairs.

The one bed unit was very spacious and more than did us. There was a fully fitted out kitchen complete with dining table but we just used the contents to eat out take away food and drink rather than cook from scratch. The bathroom had a massive walk in shower although care had to be taken not to saturate the whole of the bathroom with water! For once we actually got the whole range of SKY channels not just the usual one or two we had in other properties.

There was an on-site guest laundry that you could use to wash & dry clothes in for $6.

You got 200MB of free wifi each day which just about managed to do us although we did run out just before we were due to check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ne_quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We chose this accommodation initally because of the great winter special they were offering and we were very pleased on arriving at the reception we received from Phil who could not do enough for us even carrying our bags up to the unit.The apartment was spotlessly clean and was kept that way during our three day visit and everything inside worked perfectly which isint always the case.We will certainly return and would reccomend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Almost three years passed since I stayed there (September, 2010). I promised Maureen to leave my opinion on the property here, and I'm really sorry for such an unacceptable delay. Busyness and laziness are the only possible excuses. No, there is one more excuse: being a
permanent reader of Tripadvisor reviews, I almost never write anything myself. It even took a bit of time to recall my password to sign in.

Still, as I normally keep my word, here is my short review.

The place is OK. There were few guests in the hotel during our stay (low season), and we were upgraded to the suite free of charge. Special thanks to both Phil and Maureen for this courtesy.

So, advantages of the place are:

1. Very convenient location.
2. Amazing views. Of course, the higher the better, therefore the upper floor is the best choice. Downloaded a picture of our balcony view as a proof.
3. Good rooms, clean and convenient for living.
4. Very helpful owners.

Drawbacks? In my view, nothing essential. Of course, one might always complain that the place is overpriced, and it is never easy to argue. Nevertheless, I believe that Swiss Chalet is priced quite reasonably: I used to live in NZ, and have a lot of experience with local accommodations to compare.

Can this help after three years? I hope yes. Things change, but if the owners of any place are attentive to their customers and prone to stick to certain standards of their services, the benchmark normally always stays at a high level whatever is happening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing