We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
West Country UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We arrived at the lodge late but had pre arranged our arrival, everything was ready for us.The lodge is very nice in appearance.the room was very clean and nicely furnished .I was very impressed with the bedding lovely sheets.It is very close to the centre of this small town but not noisy, easy walk to all amenities.Maureen and Phil were very friendly and helpful.I would definitely recommend the Swiss Lodge to anyone staying Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytripper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    85
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
97
167
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The whole experience was fantastic, I was there for a few days with my work, I wanted a small motel that was clean, quiet, in a good location at a reasonable price.
I feel that I got that and much more, very friendly owners who went the extra mile, under cover parking, super fast wi-fi which was spot on and I took the continental breakfast option for only $10 extra, well worth it, well done, see you next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Keith Thank you for writing a lovely review of our property it was lovely to have you here. It is always good to be hosts to people that enjoy making the effort to get out to enjoy the area as you did. We would love to see you here again. All the best for the New Year, Maureen and Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Annual trip to Paihia, second time staying at Swiss Chalet, like going home really. Phil and Maureen are so helpful, nothing is too much bother, makes the world of differnce to feel so welcomed and relaxed, enjoyed the lovely bbq area facilites. Cleaning staff very friendly and hospitable, have recommended to many.

Room Tip: End room have stunning views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2michie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for writing a lovely review for us. It is always great to have you all here enjoying yourselves and catching big fish. Thank you for sending your lovely friends here. Have a great Christmas and New Year - see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and just loved the people and place, could not be more helpful. Thanks Phil and Jayne
Rooms were large and comfortable. Our room had a king bed with a sectioned off lounge area. Would definitely stay here again
Just a close walk to centre of town

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here in October and the accommodation was brilliant! The staff were very helpful. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed and the style was very pretty. The shower room was modern and everything worked. Plenty of room for parking. Only a short walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Eight golfers stay at the Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel on our annual trip north. We take the entire top floor for 4 nights which provides us with spacious, clean accommodation that suits our needs perfectly. Maureen & Phil are great hosts and the location provides us a lovely view and an easy stroll to a variety of restaurants. We are again booked in next year and already looking forward to it. cheers.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi John and all your golfing buddies. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. It is always great to have you stay with us - we love the competition you have going every year. Waitangi is a lovely golf course and we are not far from Kerikeri Carrington or Kauri Cliffs course as well. Have a great Christmas and we will see you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Andalusia, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel in Paihia and we are so glad we did! The owners, Phillip and Maureen, could not have been more helpful. They gave us lots of information on local places to eat and drink and made great suggestions of places to visit on our daily excursions away from Paihia.

The price was also very reasonable and we will definitely go back next time we visit Paihia. Good value for money and a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Michael. Thank you for your lovely review of our property. It was lovely to have you both stay with us and would love to see you here again some day. All the best for Christmas and the New year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing