We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Paihia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short stay in Paihia.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A very comfortable and conveniently located motel. Maureen and Phil were welcoming and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. Good value for money for the Bay of Islands. The covered parking was a bonus and the laundry facilities were good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    86
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
100
169
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My Wife and I experienced a fantastic time at the Swiss Chalet Motel with the hosts Maureen and Phil making us feel at home.We were originally booked for 3 nights but within hours we made it 4. It was their guidance of places to visit and eat that helped make our first visit to Paihia one that had us saying we have to come back here (to this location), which is within walking distance to everything you want, beach,restaurants,shops,wharf. The service and quality of food at the recommended food places - Wharepuke Cafe,Waterfront Restaurant,Lip's Restaurant & RSA put the icing on the cake for a couple that had driven for 5 hours to find heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

so lovely and friendly place which can give you very comfortable feeling, everything's just perfect. It's not a place just serve with bed for sleeping, it's a place to make you feel like home, with a outside balcony and very nice kitchen, you can just enjoy whatever you like. And of course the hospitality from Maureen and Phil. Just unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights there, I do hope we can stay more time there sometime in future. And this is the number 1 place I would highly recommend for any of my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

There was difficulty in accommodating us for the days we wished to visit so we had the unexpected experience of 3 different units during our stay. 2 were upstairs and 1 ground level. All were well appointed, spotless, airy and spacious. Bed linen was crisp and beds comfortable but we did prefer to be upstairs with a view over the harbour.
Our host, Phil, willingly moved our luggage between each apartment making the moves so much easier for us. This was very much appreciated.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Set just yards from the seafront this affords a little more peaceful location but still very close to all the shops, bars and restaurants. Easy strolling distance to the ferries to Russell and the bay trips.
The rooms are equipped to a high standard and we thought it very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the Swiss Chalet from Jan 26 to 31, 2014. What a lovely motel. The location was great being within walking of restaurants, the wharf ,the shops and the beach. Our room was quiet, very clean and serviced daily. The bed was super comfy and we enjoyed having the balcony and the kitchen. Phil and Maureen were very helpful making suggestions about things to see and where to eat. Staying at the Swiss Chalet helped make our stay in Pahia a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADonna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hi Donna. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was lovely to have you stay and that you took the time to enjoy our beautiful bay. Hopefully we see you again some day. Regards Maureen and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I found this motel very clean and tidy and Phil and Maureen were excellent hosts. Going out of their way to be helpful. The unit was kept in an excellent condition. Pauline and myself stayed for 5 nights and were really pleased. The location is great within easy walking of town and ferry and information centre

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi Wally and Pauline. Thank you for writing a lovely review of our property. It was great to have you stay with us. We hope you got back to Levin safely and that you are enjoying the pot plant that we gave you. All the best, Maureen and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing