We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly hosts, a great place to stay in Paihia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We liked the swiss chalet motel from the first moment on and their hosts Phil and Maureen were so nice that we felt almost like at home. That's also why we even stayed twice there on our two months trip through New Zealand. The hosts tried their most to make our stay as nice as possible. We really appreciated the warm atmosphere and can recommend this motel to everyone and the Spa was very relaxing, especially on cloudy days! They were also very helpful in finding weather forecasts for us, making bookings or whatever we wanted to know about the region of Bay of Islands. Thanks again Phil and Maureen and take care! George & Caroline from Switzerland :))

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2009

I recently traveled from California to the Bay of Islands with my sister and my grown daughter who is currently living in Wellington. None of us were familiar with the area and I had made reservations in another hotel that was more expensive and not acceptable. The Swiss Chalet is a delightt. Beautiful roses and healthy plants abound. The rooms were just like staying in a chalet that was well attended. The shower was excellent, the kitchen was stocked with glassware, silverware, and everything we needed to settle in and make ourselves comfortable. The owners are warm and accommodating and we congratulated ourselves for being lucky enough to find a place that is obviously loved by its owners. And we saved money both because their fees are reasonable plus we were able to cook in a few nights which was fun and more economical. It is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CaliforniaCurious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Stayed here for only 1 night unfortunately. The place was spotless and for a studio room was spacious, lovely little balcony with table and chairs outside. Close to everything. The owners were very welcoming and so helpful. Cant say enough good things about the place and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LotsaBlondeMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

On 16th. Sept. 2009, Together with my family I stayed at the above mentioned Motel. We were very impressed.. The owners and staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our holiday. We had most magnificent views from our rooms and it was only a few minutes walk to the centre of the town. I have no hesitation in recommending to others

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archiedunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We recently spent 8 days at Swiss Chalet with family in the 3 bedroom executive suite. The views from this apartment were absolutely magnificent. Maureen and Phil were extremely welcoming and friendly. The rooms were spotless, beautiful fresh linen and towels and the cleaning staff also very friendly and accommodating. The location is very convenient within a block from the beach and a 5 minute walk to the shops and resturants. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will definitely recommend you to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommiesGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

we were extremely dissapointed to read a letter on your website titled "what a dump" and we wish to strongly dissagree with this letter.We are annual visitors to the swiss chalet and it is always an absolute pleasure to stay there. The hospitality and facilities are consistantly first class with cleanliness and presentation always faultless. We are very pleased to see the display cards indicating that the mattresses are cleaned and sanitised on a regular basis.well done swiss chalet we recommend you with utmost confidence to anyone seeking first class accommodation in paihia

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed the motel for three days during the easter. The price is reasonable. The room is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this place to my friend.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £70 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing