We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$205
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl of the Bay(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
252
92
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
92
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsundercover parkinghosts philshort walkfresh milkbit datedstayed longertown centreexcellent locationwithin walking distancestayed for nightsshops and restaurantsrooms are cleanstay there againsea frontocean viewconvenient locationvisiting paihia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We just felt welcome and safe in this place. We called the Swiss Chalet to query and book at 12:00 midnight because of the holiday rush. The lady on the reception was very courteous and accomodating despite the late night call. She turned out to be the owner! We received confirmation at 8:00 am the following day. Upon our arrival in the afternoon, we were greeted by another very friendly person who turned out to be the owner as well!

To make the long story short, Maureen and Phil had made a very good impression from day 1 until we had left on the 3rd day. Basic room service was excellent, room upkeep was superv. Phil and Maureen had helped us with suggestions/maps on how to go around Paihia/ Russel and Keri-Keri.

Well done Maureen and Phil, wishing you all the best for 2010, you have made our stay at Paihia very pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

The owners (Maureen and Phil) were extremely helpful and went out of the way to help us with our bookings or information that we required. They had taken care to ensure that even the minutest of detail was not overlooked. I was especially impressed by the fact that they provided wireless broadband internet without any charges. Though the cost of this may not be very high, but it just shows how well the hosts have understood the needs of today's traveller and done their best to cater to those needs. If ever I visit this part of New Zealand again, I will save myself some time by just booking accomodation with them.
The location too is great. It is very close to the wharf. It is next door to a medical facility and is very close to restaurants and cafes.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank BSJSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We found the service great, postion close to everything, rooms very clean & well appointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_roberts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We liked the swiss chalet motel from the first moment on and their hosts Phil and Maureen were so nice that we felt almost like at home. That's also why we even stayed twice there on our two months trip through New Zealand. The hosts tried their most to make our stay as nice as possible. We really appreciated the warm atmosphere and can recommend this motel to everyone and the Spa was very relaxing, especially on cloudy days! They were also very helpful in finding weather forecasts for us, making bookings or whatever we wanted to know about the region of Bay of Islands. Thanks again Phil and Maureen and take care! George & Caroline from Switzerland :))

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I recently traveled from California to the Bay of Islands with my sister and my grown daughter who is currently living in Wellington. None of us were familiar with the area and I had made reservations in another hotel that was more expensive and not acceptable. The Swiss Chalet is a delightt. Beautiful roses and healthy plants abound. The rooms were just like staying in a chalet that was well attended. The shower was excellent, the kitchen was stocked with glassware, silverware, and everything we needed to settle in and make ourselves comfortable. The owners are warm and accommodating and we congratulated ourselves for being lucky enough to find a place that is obviously loved by its owners. And we saved money both because their fees are reasonable plus we were able to cook in a few nights which was fun and more economical. It is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CaliforniaCurious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews