We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay in Paihia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This hotel was clean and in a good location. It includes a free parking space and was close to "downtown" Paihia. Everything is within walking distance in this resort town. The cost of this hotel was a little more than most places we stayed in New Zealand, but it was reasonable compared with other hotels in Paihia.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed for 3 nights over the NYE long weekend and would definitely return. Maureen and Phil were incredibly helpful with everything from local information (tours, eating out, shopping etc) to clothes washing! They were helpful and friendly but not intrusive on our privacy. The lodge itself was in a perfect position, extremely close to the city centre, wharf and beach, but still peaceful. The units were well equipped and clean. This was our first trip to Paihia and when we return we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Fantastic stay with Maureen and Phil in Pahia - they made us so welcome and made our holiday. Lovely accommodation, comfortable bed and nice touch having a balcony.

Felt like leaving family when it was time to go....hard to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I recently stayed here as a single vacation bound person. The room was perfectly clean and had everything I needed during my stay. Maureen and Phil were wonderful hosts and offered all kinds of suggestions on dining, tours and the town's happenings. And Ellie, the little Yorkie, was a perfect welcoming greeter.

Being I was traveling for a while, it was great to be somewhere I could do some laundry and hang it out to dry. The studio unit had a small kitchen and full bath. Perfect for what I needed. I was able to sit outside on a shared balcony at a little cafe table, where I could plot my day. Internet was available and easy to use as well.

The location was close to town and the ferry over to Douglas. Perfect for what I was looking for during my whirlwind trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed 2 nights from 11 Oct 10 on what was likely one of the coldest spells they had during NZ Spring with a bitter, strong wind straight from the south and the Antartic. The friendly owners were very pleasant and helpful and there was a small library if you needed a good read, and a small laundry. We stayed in the family room, which had a separate bedroom with 2 single beds, with a partial but lovely sea view and balcony. On the plus side it was spacious and well equipped with coffee maker, toaster, 2 ring stove etc and excellently there was free wifi. On the minus side, there was inadequate heating with nothing in the bathroom and toilet nor in the separate bedroom and only a small fan heater in the main living area. (The chill wind was whistling through the door cracks and toilet window). The double bed in the main living area had seen better days and rocked about every time you turned over, the mattress I'm afraid sagged in the middle. Hotel is well positioned with just a short walk to the tiny mall and adequate shops but be prepared for high prices and little choice in the closest supermarket (4square). There is a better, bigger one further away on the road out to KeriKeri. Not a great choice of restaurants in Paihia.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

After travelling from London, via Sidney and around New Zealand I successfully found somewhere that provided me with a relaxing atmosphere so that I could enjoy the beauty and history of the area. The manager gave me such a warm welcome and provided all the facilities I needed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garbo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Couldn't fault it. Great beds & pillows. Excellent shower. More than adequate kitchenette. Spotless. Genuinely friendly & helpful hosts & staff. Ideal location for the 2010 Jazz & Blues Festival. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £72 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing