We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large "apartment"/suite within walking distance to center of Paihia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Large "apartment"/suite within walking distance to center of Paihia”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had a "deluxe apartment" for one night. It looked out to the ocean across the street. The room (#215) was very large with a full kitchen, sofa and tables, balcony with chairs and table, a strange bedroom arrangement with sliding walls to enclose the space from the living area. We were running late but arrived shortly after 6:00 PM. We think the clerk was planning to close the registration desk around 7:00 (not sure about this, but it was definitely closed by the time we got back from dinner.) The room included "continental breakfast" based on the travel agent's arrangement, but there is no breakfast room in the motel. The clerk prepared a basket for us with cereal, milk, bread for toast, juice, and canned fruit; she gave us the basket and we prepared breakfast ourselves using the equipment in the kitchen. The suite could easily be comfortable for several days' visit in the Paihia area. There is a laundry on site for $3 NZD per wash and dry. Parking is tight, but we were also able to leave the car there the next day while we went on the Cream Trip. We walked from the property to the center of Paihia, saving ourselves the trouble of finding parking there.
The hotel seemed full, based on evidence in the parking lot, but it was quiet.
We found the property hard to locate since it is adjacent to several other motels/hotels along the same road and it has a narrow footprint. Most of the rooms do not face the ocean but face the parking along the side of the building.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean from your room, make sure you ask for it. Most of the rooms do NOT hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    235
    47
    29
    7
See reviews for
131
351
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom suite facing the water and our suite had everything we needed except free wifi, which seems to be a bit of a rarity in NZ. The ocean view suites are very attractive and well furnished with plenty of comfortable seating and good lighting. They have a lovely balcony with a table and chairs and a great kitchenette with all mod cons including a dishwasher, a washing machine and dryer. Staff are helpful and the location is good, just an easy 5 minute walk into town or to the Russell ferry.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room at the front, they have the view and are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possumpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This motel is ideally situated on the beach front a short walk to the town and local shops. A well stocked unit, good kitchen and facilities. Very warm when we visited in February and air con was not that powerful and only in the lounge so it took all night for any cool air to reach the bedroom. Good marks all round otherwise, an ideal place for a couple of nights while touring.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are better as ground floor has parking spaces right outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and pleased to hear you found our property ideal for your needs. It is our aim to ensure our guests have a memorable stay in the Bay of Islands and your feedback is important to us. I hope you had a good trip home and will return to the Paihia in the future. Regards Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A lovely location, near the beach at Paihia. This is a hotel that is worth booking the better apartments.
Our apartment was on the ground floor,next to the car parking. The apartment had a small, outdoor seating area, at the back, from the bedroom, not very interesting. Inside the apartment there was very little natural light, and if you opened the sheer net curtains, There was very little privacy. The oven was hard to use, even when we asked for assistance, from a member of staff. Our apartment was more like a motel, some of the apartments looked really good, but we did not see inside them.

Room Tip: book a more expensive room, with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our second time visiting the Bay of Islands and it was important to us to have a room with a view.. We reserved the room facing the ocean because we were going to spend three days mainly relaxing in the hotel. Upon arrival, we were shown our first floor ocean room, which had a great view of parked cars. Because we were an early arrival and great dissatisfaction on our part, we were moved to the second floor, which was what we had paid for! The huge glass doors completely opened up.

The rooms were spotless. Appreciated the kitchen amenities, like the fairly large refrigerator and dishwasher. Appreciated the milk provided daily. Kitchen supplies were more than adequate. Dresser space was lacking. Only had two very small drawers in the night stands. I ended up using the one drawer in the bathroom for clothes.

The outside walkways needed to be given the same attention as the inside rooms. Needed more attention.

We arrived by bus, so had to have a good central location.. The Sea Spray met all our Requirements. The treaty grounds, grocery store and center of Paihia were all within a comfortable walking distance.

Loved being able to hop a ferry and lunch in historic Russell.

Room Tip: Must insist on a second or third floor level. If you are not going to spend much time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veryseasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at this accommodation for 2 nights. It was in an excellent location right across the road from the beach and not that far from the main shops. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The Suite was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The only downfall was the amount of stairs when having a lot of luggage and the fact that it is next to a nosiy mechanics who stays open till quite late at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angels_Are_Devious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

There is no view from any apartments other than the ones at the front and the cleaners take past 3pm to clean the rooms each day, far too long when you have a baby needing a nap. The room was sufficient and clean but I had expected better. However it is in quite a nice area in the fact that it is in walking distance of many attractions. Also the smoking below and drifting into our apartment was not nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Hello Siandra, Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I appreciate your comments and it is important to us that we receive this feedback so we can continually look at ways to improve. I am pleased your found the location convenient for your needs, but sorry parts of your stay did not meet expectations and apologise for any any convenience with the untimely serving of your room. I agree, smoking is unacceptable when it affects other guests. If you choose to visit Paihia again in the future I would like to thimk you would consider staying with us at Seaspray Suites and choose a sea view suite. Regards Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection

Property: Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands. Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing