We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment top floor over looking the beach. The apartment was very comfortable with modern furniture & appliances. The views were spectacular & we were lucky to see a cruise ship sailing in on a perfect day. Lucy was a perfect host & nothing was too much trouble. The only drawback was we were on the 3 floor with heavy luggage to carry up steps. The ceiling of the balcony definitely needs to be completely covered & when it rained we couldn't sit outside. But loved the location.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Julie B,

Thank you for placing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found the location and service were of a high standard. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Bay of Islands, and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back should you return to Paihia in the future.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

A great place to stay. Had a lovely one bedroom apartment with a magnificent sea view. Plenty of room to move around - very comfortable. Walking distance to the main strip. Staff were very nice and the welcome chocolates was nice too. We spent three nights. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosierox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Rosie,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our suites. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found your suite spacious and the view magnificent!

We really hope to see you again next time you are in the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our recent four day stay was spoiled by the lack of any storage except for two very small bedhead drawers. So we had to live out of our suitcases (also only one luggage rack) and this was very disappointing considering the price we paid. Unit may have been bristling with appliances but customer comfort was not up to the standard we are used too - and often get for a cheaper price. We now understand why we were asked for full payment when we arrived. Most unusual. Payment is usually made at the end of the stay. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 704Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear David and Diana,
Thank you for placing feedback on your stay wtih us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you found our suites. We aim to deliver excellent service in all aspects of our property, and your comments will help us see areas we can improve on. Regarding payment on arrival, this is simply hotel policy and is not based on any other factors.

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were very happy with the room. Warm, well-appointed, welcoming chocolates, good shower. Didn't have much to do with staff, but the lady we spoke to a couple of times was friendliness personified. Well placed to get around with just a bit of a walk. We hadn't realised that the Waitangi Treaty was signed just up the road.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor part way along, and it was fine. We were there at a quiet time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Richard,

Thank you for letting us know how you found your stay in our suites. We are very glad that you found the suites to be more like home, rather than a hotel, as this is what we strive for. Thank you for your lovely compliments.

We hope to see you again next time you are visiting New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely view and nice, clean and modern apartment. Although right next to the road that didn't bother us, as the view of the sea made up for it! Sun was streaming in and made the atmosphere so peaceful. Nice kitchen area, lovely bid fridge and table which made us feel at home, instead of a small hotel room. Really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The premium suite was well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Chasetravelbug,
Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in our suites, and that our service matched your expectations.
We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Sea Spray suits for 3 nights while we were visiting the Bay of Islands. We were very impressed with our room and the staff were very helpful. The rooms had everything we needed. The suits are in a great location, we walked to the main street of Paihia, it was a nice walk along the foreshore even though the weather was a bit chilly. I would recommend the Sea Spray suits to anyone visiting Paihia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Hemingaway,
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and found our suites comfortable and the staff friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We only stayed at the Sea Spray Suites for a weekend, but would have loved to stay at least a week! My favorite part about self-contained apartments is the convenience of being on your own schedule and having plenty of time to relax.
These suites were clean and modernly decorated, with everything you need, especially in the kitchen which had a stove, fridge, dishes etc. It's basically a one-bedroom apartment, which is nice to have a living space separate from the bedroom to relax. The suites are right across the street from Te Ti Bay, and some units have a great view of the water. Paihia is a quiet, serene town with lots of open farmland and empty coastline, exactly what you would picture New Zealand to be, and we loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Chasetravelbug,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us.
We are very happy to hear that our suite provided everything that you required, and that you found it handy to have the kitchen and living room for some more space/convenience.
Should you end up back in New Zealand one day, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £82 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands. Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing