We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paihia Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paihia Waterfront”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a 5 day stay at this property on the waterfront, although we didn't have a sea view unit. Units were compact but modern and had most things you needed. We had a few teething problems with lack of light bulbs and a malfunctioning rangehood but staff were pleasant and helpful in getting things operating. We enjoyed our stay here but were surprised how much we could hear from the unit below as their courtyard was immediately beneath our bedroom. This was a problem at times. Also had to wait until late in the day for our unit to be serviced.

Room Tip: Upstairs units are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Bernybear,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay with us. We do apologise for the issues you had when getting settled in. We hope that you stay improved after the early issues were sorted. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    235
    47
    29
    7
See reviews for
131
351
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the seaspray between the 5th and 9th November 2013, we had a premium one bedroom apartment, the view was awesome, it was modern, well equipped and lovely and clean. I will recommend these apartments to others, Well worth paying extra for the ocean view rooms at the front.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginapoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Gina,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our Premium suites while you were here. We hope to see you again next time you are in Paihia!

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights here in October 2013 and really loved the place, we had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 1st floor.

the apartment complex is modern, clean and the apartment itself has all the mod cons including large fridge freezer, full cooking facilities and a dishwasher. (not that we used it)
the furniture is modern and comfortable and there was a TV in the bedroom as well as the lounge

best of all is the place was very quiet - often when you stay at motels / hotels, you can hear the people above / below talking, shutting doors...etc... but not here - total piece and quiet

the only negative (if I had to be picky) is the TV in the lounge was very small - but then again you're in holiday so you shouldn't be watching TV!

we would not hesitate to stay at Sea Spray Suites in Paihia if we come back here

Room Tip: rooms on the 1st floor seemed to get more light than the ones on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Muffinz,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your time in our suites. We do have a lovely quiet spot here.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your year, and should you ever end up in Paihia in the future, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We needed a place to stay before going on an overnight cruise in Paihia, the website does Sea Spray good justice. We booked a one bedroom premium suite. This provided us with an excellent view of the ocean. Kitchen was fully equipped, meaning we had nothing to organize ourselves. Suite is spacious and designed with modern decor. Staff were welcoming and friendly with lots of information about the area. Sea Spray provides a romantic, beach get-away, while seeming it can still provide for a family situation as well. One side note: The standard rooms did not have a view of the ocean and looked as if they did not get much natural lighting as they are provided on the side of the building. It is worth booking the premium suite.

Room Tip: Stay in a premium room to ensure you have a clear view of the neighboring ocean and that your room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that your stay with us set a good tone to the rest of your time in the Bay of Islands. Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back next time your are in the area.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have traveled around New Zealand 12 times over the last 17 years and Sea Spray Suites at Paihia would definitely be in our top five accommodation experiences. Modern, spacious one bedroom unit with its own private garden court yard, modern and well equipped and supported with very helpful reception service. Very hard to fault this place....perhaps a wide screen TV in the living room in lieu of an old letterbox shape TV, a remote for the widescreen TV in the bedroom (provided on request) and possibly Sky News instead of ho hum CNN. But really who goes to the Bay of Islands to watch TV. The only other slight negative is the parking. First in best dressed and limited space between vehicles and when reversing.

Excellent value for money on Paihia standards and highly recommended. It will pleasantly surprise you.

Room Tip: Lower level garden court yard units are a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Randspayne,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments, and also your pointers regarding the TV (replacing these is on our to-do list). We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we sincerely hope to see you again next time you are in the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment top floor over looking the beach. The apartment was very comfortable with modern furniture & appliances. The views were spectacular & we were lucky to see a cruise ship sailing in on a perfect day. Lucy was a perfect host & nothing was too much trouble. The only drawback was we were on the 3 floor with heavy luggage to carry up steps. The ceiling of the balcony definitely needs to be completely covered & when it rained we couldn't sit outside. But loved the location.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for placing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found the location and service were of a high standard. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Bay of Islands, and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back should you return to Paihia in the future.

Kindest regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A great place to stay. Had a lovely one bedroom apartment with a magnificent sea view. Plenty of room to move around - very comfortable. Walking distance to the main strip. Staff were very nice and the welcome chocolates was nice too. We spent three nights. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosierox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Rosie,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our suites. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found your suite spacious and the view magnificent!

We really hope to see you again next time you are in the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection

Property: Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands. Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing